Gotta try everything once

27 Oct

So, I went to my first college party last night. Oh my god. Seriously.

Well, the funniest part was trying to get there, because it’s completely out in the middle of nowhere, in a place called Littlerock. I was like, WHERE THE HELL IS THAT? So I followed the little red sports car, we turned around about 8 times, and we got there at like 11:15. They said it was close…IT WAS OFF EXIT 95! We’re on exit 109. Hmmm, 14 exits isn’t that close. Anyway, so the other three were the Mexian flag, which was filarious, and I actually passed for a doctor at one point. I just couldn’t find a stethoscope before we left, so I just had my scrubs and my Seattle Grace ID. Yeah, I’m that cool. But I think that we were the only four that weren’t dressed sexily (I’m sure that isn’t a word) there. There were girls in undergarments and wings. Yeah, thongs and wings. Like that’s creative. But I’d never really been to a big party with drinking, but I needed to experience it, to say that I didn’t want to go to another one. The only dances I’d really experienced were ones with rules. No rules there. We pulled into a wooded area, the frat boys directed our cars, and we paid 5 bucks to get in. But I told myself, I’m not drinking anything, even if it’s in a water bottle. I don’t trust anyone there. I’d never see so many drunk underaged people in my life. It was kinda funny how stupid people got, and how slutty people got.

The four of us stayed for about an hour… although my friends thought it was longer, but we left the school at 10:30, and got there at 11:15, we left at 12:30. It was a piece of cake getting home, because it was only really one turn off this wooded road to the entrance to I-5. So it took like 20 minutes to get home. My navigator got off on exit 108, but I got off on 109 (I was the only one in my car, and none of the people in our cars had been drinking… we’re responsible) because that was the exit that I knew, but I turned right instead of left on Martin, because I was used to that, but that’s when I’m going south, not north, so I had to turn around. I was in a hurry, so I ACCIDENTALLY changed across two lanes to pull into the movie theater parking lot to turn around, and COP followed me in. I figured that he was being extra observant, since it was about 12:45 the friday before Halloween and we’re near the college. So I stopped, asked what was wrong, and at that point, I hadn’t realized that I’d pulled across two lanes, but I gave him my license and registration, and he took in back to him cop car, and then gave me a warning and sent me on my way. I was cool, calm and collected, which I think why he didn’t even suspect anything, and he had no reason to. I’d just turned the wrong way and was in a hurry. But as I drove back to the dorms. I laughed my ass off. Seriously.

Two completely new experiences in one night. Wow. Now I can say that I have. And now I can say that I’m never going to again.

I’m sorry, but I’m not risking having to sneak into the dorms at 4 am drunk off my ass, and getting caught, or worse, dying while driving. I seriously didn’t trust anyone there, except those who I stayed with the entire time.

But I’m proud of myself. I left with my group, I didn’t lose anything, and I didn’t get lost on the way home.

Oh, and the guys DJing the party were pretty cute.

(Names were taken out for your own protection)

❤ Abby

One Response to “Gotta try everything once”

  1. Patrick R 11/27/2007 at 4:31 pm #

    I like this story. I’ve never really seen the allure of those parties either. The degradation of America’s youth and society as a whole is a sad spectacle to behold, isn’t it?

Leave a comment