What am I to write about? I need to write about something.

24 Oct

Hmmmm…

I’ve been sitting here for 10 minutes, wanting to write something, but I can’t figure out one thing to write about. I’m too lazy to completely review “In Rainbows.” My sports article isn’t done. I don’t feel particularly emotional today. Hmmmm.

But I need to write something.

Oh well, I’ll just start off with something random.

I’m still waiting for my Outlook, and it should come this week, and if it doesn’t, I will be thoroughly disappointed. I guess I shouldn’t be, because we never really did bulk mailing right on time either. I checked my mail today, and it wasn’t there. But I’m going home on thursday, so maybe Libby will have one for me to see. But I want my own! With my name and address and everything!

So, what else?

Oh, we went to the David Guterson conference thing in Tacoma last week. I felt ridiculous because everyone was acting so immature. It was like no one wanted to be there, and no one respected him. I honestly wanted to be there, and wanted to hear what he had to say. Okay, so he’s a little depressed, but that’s a very common characteristic in writers. At least novelists. But people all around me were like “he’s a freak, he needs help!” He’s an esteemed author, who came to the Western Literature conference to speak to those who wanted to hear, and we filled up half the room. Most of which were wasted seats, I say. I wanted to go up to him and get him to sign my copy of SFoC, but I was too embarrassed that no one else was, and that I was one of the students. I was honestly embarrassed to be a student that night.

Okay, I think that’s enough of that.

Oh wait, I have something else.

Shelly and I watched Jesus Camp last week.

Holy shit.

I fear for our country. But really I don’t, because Bush only has just over a year left in office. If you don’t know what Jesus Camp is about, because you are too dense to realize from the title, it’s about a camp run by uber-extreme evangelical christians for kids to learn to be “warriors of God.” Yeah, warriors of God. Seriously. This woman in charge is crazy. She has this cardboard cut-out of George W., and is all “let’s pray for President Bush.” Sure, right. And as she is preaching to these kids, they are praying, speaking in tongues, crying and convulsing on the floor. It was scary. Oh, and at the end, this guy led these 8 to 12-year-old kids outside the capital building in DC with “LIFE” taped over their mouths in protest of abortion. They aren’t even teenagers yet. Shouldn’t they be worrying about what they have for lunch tomorrow and when their favorite cartoon is on? Shouldn’t little kids like that cry when they lose a Barbie doll, fall and scrape their knee, or have to eat yucky vegetables? The God that I believe in is not a God that makes kids cry. The God that I believe in is a forgiving God. This lady was making these kids afraid that they were going to Hell because they didn’t believe like her. Um, but excuse me lady, but I really don’t give a shit about what you say, I don’t see God’s cell phone number on your contact list. How the hell do you have the right to tell me what I can and cannot do? It seriously made me insane. I was sitting there, in awe of what I was watching. I felt bad for these kids, because the majority of them were homeschooled, lived in sheltered, white-washed communities. This camp was in North Dakota, so it wasn’t from the southern states, which is what I expected, but people came from all over the country to be there and hear this crazy woman tell their kids that they were going to hell.

Ugh. I hate what people like her have done to the name “Christianity.” Now, I would consider myself a non-denominational Christian. I’m not following one person or another. I’m following what I believe and only what I believe. Most of what’s in the Bible, not for me. God what the creator. Yeah. Jesus was the son of God and died for our sins. Yeah. Adam and Eve were the first two people…10,000 years ago? Not to much. Science has proven that this earth is millions of years old. So those people who completely believe the Adam and Eve story are completely disregarding the existence of Dinosaurs, and whatever else came before us.

Eh, I’ll stop my ranting about religion.

Is there anything else?

I’m going to the doctor on thursday!

❤ Abby

Leave a comment