Turn and face the strange ch ch changes

30 Oct

So, I felt like using a title of a song for this one, besides the one that Grey’s Anatomy used for this season’s premiere, “A Change is Gonna Come.”

But change, yes. Change. BTW, this has nothing to do with Grey’s Anatomy.

I just saw the new Outlook the other day. I didn’t know what to expect. But what I saw was pretty freaking unexpected. And pretty freaking different. Everything changed. The flag, the folio, the spacing–EVERYTHING! And I’m the spacing nazi, I’ll admit it. I’ve always been able to see when spacing is effed up. And the spacing was effed up.

I have to be honest, I have some warped sense of ownership for the Outlook, and in a way, I can’t let it go. But seeing the newness of it, it felt like a child that had decided to be rebellious for just the sake of rebellion. I mean, if it’s not broken, why fix it? I probably said that before, when I posted after paste up, but I’m serious. The paper was good. We’d changed it 2 years ago, so why change it so fast? Normally a paper sticks with a style for 7 years-ish, not 2.

As I flipped through the awkwardly large 10 pages, it didn’t feel like my paper anymore. They were awkwardly large; broadsheet is a pain in the ass, and the New York Times isn’t even as big as the new and “improved” Outlook. But no offense to any current Outlookers, it isn’t improved. It’s just different, because it can be.

I’m not trying to be rude to any one person, because it was everyone’s decision, but it was unnecessary to do this now. Unnecessary and uncalled for. And from what I’ve heard, I speak for most Outlook alum when I say that.

It could be the fact that I’m really not one for change. I’ve never lived out of my house since I was 3 years old. I’ve lived in the same town, been at school with the same people, and I like it that way. My hometown is going at a rate that I’ve never seen before. When Borgen Blvd. was being built, it took years to finish it. When I went back home this last weekend, Borders was already done. Costco is almost done. The YMCA has been done for weeks. What the hell? The bridge took years. Since when did our little Harbor called Gig get things done? They never did when I was there. It was hard enough getting used to the well-traveled road in my backyard, but now they’re planning on putting in an Abercrombie and Fitch. I mean, what the fuck? A multiplex-much needed, Borders-a little unnecessary, but an Abercrombie-that’s just effed up. The whole appeal of Gig Harbor was the small town feel. It was sort of unfortunate that it was so whitewashed, but that wasn’t our fault.

Change is happening all around me. I thought that it was overwith when the bridge was done and PHS had all the remodeling, but this is enough. Enough with the innovation. Enough with the one-upping your neighbor. Enough with the freaking upgraded iPods for goodness sakes!

Seriously, an upgrade isn’t always necessarily an upgrade. Life doesn’t work like the Tampax commercials.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

