Shari’s rant

20 Oct

So, I was driving by a Shari’s today, and I realized something.

There is no apostrophe in the sign!

I’m a grammar nazi… I don’t know if that’s good or bad.

So I wrote customer service.

Okay, so this has been bothering me since I went to get some chocolate pie at midnight a month ago. The sign outside every Shari’s restaurant I’ve ever seen is missing one key component–the apostrophe. I know that the website and menus and everything else that says Shari’s without the actual logo has the apostrophe, but the sign doesn’t have it. For the longest time I thought the restaurant was Sharis (pronounced Share-isss), because of the missing punctuation. What the sign means right now is “Shari pluralized.” Now, when I see the sign, there’s only one restaurant, not multiple Sharis. I’m guessing that a woman named Shari started up the 24-hour eatery years ago, and I think that you should give her the recognition that she deserves in adding the possessive apostrophe to all the Shari’s restaurant signs. I bet I’m not the only one who’s bothered. So fix the signs, grammar failures!

I might have gone a little overboard with the last part, but it’s 12:50 on a saturday morning…I’m bored!

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

