I’m thankful for lots of stuff

26 Nov

Long time no see!

No seriously, it’s been since August. This is a bit ridiculous. But I’ve been busy over at my YouTube page, posting vlogs, making YouTube friends, meeting famous YouTubers – you know – that kinda stuff. Here’s my newest video if you care.

But that’s not the point of this blog. I’m dreadfully sorry I have neglected my dear wordpress for nearly four months. Tonight I have something to legitimately say, and I’m too lazy to record and edit a video. And everyone is home, and I hate filming vlogs with people in the house. It’s just awkward.

STOP RAMBLING, ABBY. YOU HAVE A MISSION.

Right. It’s Thanksgiving, or it was like an hour ago. Whatever.

So Happy Belated Turkey Day! There’s definitely still plenty of friggin turkey, so it’s just an extended Thanksgiving.

What am I thankful for? I just thought about posting it in a Facebook status, but there were way too many things to list, so I came over here to WordPress.

  1. I’m thankful for my family’s overall healthiness (even though my parents both have high blood pressure and my great uncle is losing his mind, but that’s kinda funny). Seriously, in terms of my own health – I’m basically back to normal. I’ve lost weight the normal way, not the sick way. And I feel awesome. My family’s got in plenty of car accidents in the last year, and we’re all still fine. Our car insurance isn’t the greatest, but we’ve come out unscathed basically.
  2. I’m thankful for the amazing opportunity I’ve had in the last year. PopWreckoning has MADE MY LIFE. I’ve got to shoot my favorite bands, meet my favorite bands, and meet so many awesome people in Seattle that it makes me want to move there more. Seriously, before I started talking to other photographers I would go to shows by myself and be bored. It was lonely. But now I have friends. Ones that I can legitimately say that they’re my friends. If I drive to Seattle by myself, I still no I’ll know someone there, and it’s awesome.
  3. I’m thankful for my Ledgehammers (newspaper staff), because they deal with my crap, my forgetfulness, and they still work uber hard and I wouldn’t be able to make the quality paper that we do without them. I’m thankful that I even got the chance to be editor-in-chief, even though I’m going slightly mad with stress. Stress pushes me. Deadlines push me. I need that.
  4. I’m thankful for Nerdfighteria. Actually, I’m thankful that I got the subculture assignment last spring in Demaske’s class, because it forced me to watch almost all of the Vlogbrothers videos, and that led to me to so many awesome YouTubers, a lot of whom I’ve met now. It’s nice to have this community that never stops, and all shares the same belief of “Don’t Forget To Be Awesome.” Because of John and Hank Green and YouTube, I’ve connected with so many cool people (some in my own area code!) and met amazing semi-famous YouTubers. I love you, Nerdfighteria.
  5. I’m thankful for my ever-growing network of internet friends all across the country and across the world I’ve met because of Keith Murray and Chris Cain. Well, now because of the WASTRAVAGANZA (see previous post) a lot of those friends are not just internet friends anymore. That trip was the greatest thing ever. And I’m thankful that I have you all to share in the love. And not just my uber-fan WAS friends. I’m thankful for everyone somehow connected to WAS. Example – Aaron Pfenning. That man is going places, and I’m glad I got to be apart of it. He just needs to get his butt back over to the west coast in 2011.
  6. I’m thankful for my friends at home. I’m thankful that people are happy and healthy and getting their life together. Okay, fine. I won’t be vague. I’m thankful that LAURA is home and happy. When Laura is sad, I’m sad. And Laura isn’t sad anymore, so I’m happy.
  7. I’m thankful for good music. For all the good music I’ve seen and all the good music that is yet to come. I thank you – bands – for being awesome. “Without music, life would be a mistake.” – Friedrich Nietzsche. I can’t fathom anyone who doesn’t think the same.
  8. I’m thankful for my dog who is way too old and stupid to realize it, but I love her. I don’t know what I’ll do when she finally does kick the bucket.
  9. I’m thankful for how close my sister and I are. Because even though it makes the fact that she’s up at school most of the time harder, it makes when she comes home so much better. This weekend we’ll be seeing Deathly Hallows again, and she cut my hair tonight. Not many sisters would trust their little sister to cut their hair for them.
  10. I’m thankful for this – my freedom to say what I want where I want. I’ve been taking so many media classes that it makes me incredibly cynical about what’s being told to me on a daily basis by the mass media. But these places on the internet that gives us the power to say what we want and connect with people astounds me every day. So many media theorists are so against the idea of the internet as a medium for journalism, but so many of them are so stuck in their ways that they can’t see the opportunity that this giant “series of tubes” creates. I love it, even though right now my business isn’t the most lucrative. Since my sister and I are so damn close, I figure I’ll just live with her and she can make all the money doing math stuff. Lord knows I won’t be able to do all my own taxes.

Happy Thanksgiving everybody! Go crazy on all those Black Friday deals that the commercials keep raving about. I’m poor, so I’ll be making personalized Christmas cards for all my pals. Cause I’m creative like that.

❤ Abby

2 Responses to “I’m thankful for lots of stuff”

  1. Ruth 11/26/2010 at 6:04 am #

    Aw that’s great Abby. We don’t have Thanksgiving here but it would do people good to reflect on what they are thankful for, we should all do it on a regular basis. I’m gonna go and think about mine. If I ever get finished writing all the WAS stuff I might even post it…

  2. Ruth 11/26/2010 at 6:05 am #

    Oh and your banner picture is beautiful, made me smile!

Leave a comment