Procrastination

24 Jan

Yeah…I’ve fallen into that habit again. I don’t even know what’s due tomorrow besides what we have to post on the discussion board for Gorbman’s class. That shouldn’t be so bad, as it’s just about the readings we had and Red River. John Wayne wasn’t nearly as charming in this film, I’ll tell ya. What else do I have to do? Damnit. I had to have my annotated bibliography for Beaufort’s class. I should email He Is We if I’m actually going to do a feature on them. And I have to write up my proposal. Crap. But this has been a busy weekend. My IV infusion on friday that took most of the day, then I was all sloshy and tired for the rest of the day. We did get to hear some new WAS from videos from Philly though, which was a nice surprise this weekend. And yesterday we went to a wedding then one of the most amazing shows EVER.


Yes my friends, Phoenix. And this was one of my favorite shots of the night. So glorious. (No more epic, epic is going away.)

But last night was so good in so many ways, that the one bad thing doesn’t even matter. Turns out that the Showbox people like to pack SoDo full to the brim (excuse the cliche)…wait, no…the venue gets so congested it’s like before they built the second Narrows Bridge. There, no cliche. And because of this, it’s the first time I’ve gotten claustrophobic at a show since…well since Franz at Bumbershoot, but at least this time I didn’t get clobbered in the head. Thank goodness I went to the show on an empty stomache, or else I could have possibly vomited…but no matter.


Another of the good ones.

The opening band wasn’t bad, actually Soft Pack was pretty good. I’ll have to get some more of their stuff other than the Spin Magazine’s 2010 sampler. I didn’t get that many great pictures of them, at least of more than the lead guitarist, cause there was this dude standing in front of the me with the most obnoxious hair I’ve ever seen at a show. At least pull it in a ponytail, man. Be considerate. Actually, this girl standing next to me said at one point, “you’re tall, why do you need to stand in the front? You can see from back there,” speaking to no one in particular of course, but I responded with, “tell me about it,” and tried to lift my camera up over his mountainous glob of hair. The other guy standing in front of me was nice enough to lean over when I tried to get a good shot, which was helpful.

However, the hair mountain man did provide me with one of the best moments of the night. Honestly. After I’d politely asked to stand in front of him after Jenna brought me my photo pass, and we were waiting for Phoenix to go on, he shouted – I’m not kidding – “come on, allons-y!”

Seriously. I was so struck by it that I didn’t even think to turn around and give him kudos on his Doctor Who reference. But after I thought about it, I realized…oh, they’d even understand that without the Doctor Who reference, because it’s it French. Har-dee-har. I’m kinda slow that way.


I kinda like the soft focus on this one.

Okay, so the show was amazing, which was fully expected. I’m going to avoid seeing huge buzz bands at SoDo from now on, because I don’t want to be that claustrophobic again. But I can say that I’ve been to both Showboxes now. The parking for SoDo was 1/3 of the price of parking by the Market, but the Market is a far superior venue, easier to get to, and has prettier lighting.

However, THIS WAS THE BEST PART. As soon as the ridiculously long encore, Libby and I went to go find Renee and Jennifer, both of whom were standing right in the front row, not to far from me actually once I pushed my way up. I was so nice to see both of them again, as it almost made me stay and wait to meet the band. I feel like if they hadn’t been there, I would have been too much of a wimp and left. But I didn’t. I wasn’t a wimp. It was quite freezing outside, but I don’t tend to get cold, so I provided Libby’s warmth while we waited for Christian, Branco, Thomas and Deck. And I’ll take a picture of my pass with all their autographs here pretty soon and update this post, as soon as I accomplish some homework today. But here’s one of the shots I took of Renee, Jenn, Libby and Thomas.


We met ALL of them. Well, Jenn and Renee had met them several times before, but I finally did. I finally broke through that wall and don’t have to worry about it anymore. I’m sure it’s going to be much easier now for me.


Christian was so darn sweet. When I held up my pass for him to sign, he pointed to it and was like, “oh, you take photos?”

“Yeah.”

“Are your photos good?”

“I was pretty happy with them.”

Or something like that.

And it was quite funny when we were standing in the freezing cold, everyone but Branco had come outside to meet people. Renee saw Christian upstairs through a window and he glanced outside, she looked up and pointed down, gesturing them to come downstairs. And when he came outside for the second time with his case, he told us, “my brother is coming!” In a French accent.

I feel so accomplished right now.

ADDENDUM: My review’s been posted HERE NOW.

❤ Abby

One Response to “Procrastination”

  1. Marisa 01/24/2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Woot for not doing real work. I have a group presentation tomorrow, but I’ve spent the last three hours making a playlists for traveling, then realized I had so many travel songs I needed to make a playlist for road trips. Then I started a rainy day playlist.

    I am so about to fail out of life.

Leave a Reply

