What should I be for Halloween?

14 Oct

I’ve been stuck inside feeling icky, with equally icky weather outside, and I’m procrastinating reading for class, so I figured I’d blog about that one holiday where every girl finds an excuse to dress like a whore.

Halloween!

Been thinking about it a lot, as last year’s costume was a cop-out last minute put together of random pieces of witch costumes we’ve been accumulating over the last 10 some odd years. But the problem I have with getting a costume together is my glasses. I don’t have contacts, so my glasses are unavoidable. I’ve figured I either have to be a character who already has glasses, be an inanimate object, or a like a librarian or doctor or some shit like that.

The latter two are lame, so I’ve decided on some bespectacled character from movies or television. I have a few options right now, and there are about 2 weeks until Halloween, so I have PLENTY of time to find the necessary pieces to put together any of these costumes.

1. Velma Dinkley from Scooby Doo

I just have to find a orange turtleneck, red skirt, orange knee-highs and some color of Mary Janes. And Millie could be Scooby!

2. Mary Katherine Gallagher (Molly Shannon from SNL and Superstar!)

Again, a skirt and knee-highs with Mary Janes. But I’m not sure if it will be as recognizable if I don’t get a dark wig. Hmmm…

3. Mime

I could have fun with the makeup for this one, and the glasses wouldn’t distract at all from the stark makeup. And the thing with these clothes – they would fit fine into my current wardrobe. And AmApp even has a “costume builder” for a mime. All the chick costumes on their involve leotards, so I passed.

What do y’all think? I thought Maybe Tina fey, but it wouldn’t be as recognizable. I also considered going with someone else as Robots, but not just ANY robots, but Flight of the Conchords Robots. And we go around quoting Bret and Jemaine. Just wear all silver and paint a box for a head.

Or maybe I’ll go with someone, as a Mac and a PC, but be ironic about it, and I’d be the PC because I have the glasses like John Hodgeman, and someone else could be the Mac. Hmmm…


(I WANT THESE!)

In this instance, dudes have so many more options to be hot men with glasses. I mean, if you’re a guy with glasses – you can be Harry Potter,

Stephen Colbert,

Clark Kent a la Superman,

Rivers Cuomo,

or Jemaine Clement!

Seriously, if I saw a guy dressed as Jemaine for Halloween, I’d just DIE. Or if a group of three guys went as the Lonely Island – one as Andy, one as Jorma, and one as Akiva. <3<3<3<3

I’m getting excited.

❤ Abby

3 Responses to “What should I be for Halloween?”

  1. adrian 10/18/2009 at 10:14 pm #

    I’ve also been thinking hard about Halloween.

    at first I was thinking of being LA Noir. I had another idea, but now I can’t remember what it was…damn. I think it was really good, too.

    • abbigshmail 10/18/2009 at 10:45 pm #

      Wait, like La Noir rockin’ mom jeans and lemon lips? That’s awesome.

  2. adrian 10/19/2009 at 1:01 am #

    exactly! but I’d only be dressing up for school, and no one would get it.

Leave a Reply

