Testing…testing…

4 Oct

Don’t Stop Believin’ (Glee Cast Version) by abbigshmail

I wanted to test out this Soundcloud thing with a song that Libby hasn’t stopped playing on the piano lately, and I love it. Seriously, Lea Michele (Rachel) is like a young Idina Menzel, and for some reason Cory Monteith (Finn) reminds of a guy I went to high school with. Only the guy I went to high school with wasn’t in Glee, he was in other nerdy clubs.

Anyway. This post wasn’t merely for testing Soundcloud. School just started. Well, school started on thursday for me at least. So far, I’m okay with my classes. One of my professors from last quarter walked into my first class to borrow chairs at the beginning of class on thursday, and it made me sad, because his class was the one class I REALLY wanted to get into. But that’s okay. That’s not the class that I’m weary about.

That’s my literature class. Yes, I’m in another literature class, but hopefully it won’t be as intense as Sharkey’s last quarter. It’s women’s lit, and there are 2 guys in the class. Ha. Ha. Actually, it’s not that funny. I walked into class 2 minutes late the first day, and I had quite a surprise awaiting me once I arrived.

Open door.

Surprise!

Oh shit.

Yeah, I was hoping I’d avoid the situation all throughout these last two years of UWT, but alas, there it is – staring me right in the face the first day of classes junior year. Ugh.

I still need to get my books for that class too. That’s reminds me.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for a good quarter. And even more publicity for Popwreckoning.

Oh! I must mention what miraculous things happened this week after the Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head show on monday. And these were quite miraculous, I’ll tell you. So I posted the review on tuesday, right? I tweeted a couple times reminding people to read it, including @NPSH and @ladyhawkeforyou in the tweets to get more people to read it. Well lo and behold, late that night Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head themselves, or whomever updates the Twitter page regularly – I think it’s Luke – read my review.

Yep.

And they tweeted me back. In these exact words. – “@abbigshmail You ruuule! That was a great review of the show. See you again sometime!”
Picture 5
I really do hope I see them again sometime soon. Maybe I can overcome my jitters and interview a band. HOLY SHIT THAT WOULD BE AMAZING. Whoa, I’m getting ahead of myself.

Needless to say, when I saw this I got off my couch, jumped up and down, spun around and squealed frantically. This caused the dog to stare at me like, “what the dickens is wrong with you?” I didn’t care how much of a fool I looked like. It was A-MAZING. I hadn’t imagined THAT to happen, but it did. Yeah, it was pretty sweet.

What else came from my last blog was also quite incredible. On our dashboard on WordPress, it shows where people clicked on links to your blog from. Now, there were two facebook profiles that I didn’t know on my list of “referrers.” I clicked on them, wondering how they might have come upon my blog.

And guess what?

You know Plaid Guy? Well, his name’s David. And it was HIS facebook profile that my blog got pinged from, and the other guy Will who was standing behind us – his facebook was the other one. Weird, innit? I messaged both these guys wondering how to crap they found my blog. David wrote me back, saying he searched for pictures from the show, and my blog was the only thing that came up. I tried it out, Googled “npsh showbox” and narrowed it down to blogs. And “This Is A Tangent” was the first result. Huh.

Not only did someone from the show ping my post, but the TWO DUDES STANDING BEHIND ME – WHOM I REFERRED TO IN THAT EXACT POST. That has got to be the most eerie coincidence I’ve come upon in a long time. And you thought the internet was this vast land of billions of pages. Just goes to show you how music can bring people together. And how the internet can be the vessel.

Well, I think I better get back to my reading for class on tuesday, and listening to more Glee. I swear to god even though Kristin Chenoweth’s character is kind of toxic, she should NEVER leave television. She belongs on my TV at all times. Without Pushing Daisies, Glee fulfills the brightness factor that my TV was lacking for these last 10 months.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

