Neil Patrick Harris is the HBIC

21 Sep

So…when it came to the awards themselves last night, I was quite disappointed – except for Kristin Chenoweth winning for Best Supporting Actress for Pushing Daisies. My dearly departed show got some recognition.


And Kristin looked fierce in her mirrored mini. LOVE HER.

For the most part, everything was very lackluster, semi-expected. Alec Baldwin won for 30 Rock, Glenn Close won for Damages, Brian Cranston won for Breaking Bad, The Daily Show and the Amazing Race won (I was hoping for Project Runway or Top Chef). Blah-dee-blah Toni Collette was the only newcomer to the awards, with a win for Lead Actress in a comedy series for her Showtime series United States of Tara.


She looked quite nice too.

Even though Alec Baldwin beat out Jim Parsons (Sheldon Cooper) and Jemaine Clement, he deserved it – because he’s freaking Alec Baldwin. But the only award I was actually mad about was Supporting Actor in a comedy series. First of all, Michael Urie wasn’t even nominated, which is WRONG. And second, Jon Cryer won. Neil Patrick should have been a shoo-in. He and Jon Cryer actually had a funny bit of banter when Jon was in the press room.

“How does it feel, Jon?”

“Oh, it feels great Neil.”

It went on longer than that, but I can’t remember exactly what they said.

But he was a damn good host, kicking the night off with a great opening number urging us all to not change the channel. Overall, the awards this year were much better than last year when all the reality hosts hosted the Emmys. They kinda sucked. And Jeff Probst actually made a joke of it when he accepted his award for best reality host. “This is how you host the Emmys,” he told NPH as he pointed his award to him.


I especially loved when Dr. Horrible hijacked the Emmys during the explanation of the Emmy voting procedure. Nice touch.

I was a bit saddened that Flight of the Conchords and Saturday Night Live didn’t win any team awards, but I did dig that the Emmy voters chose Tina Fey and Justin Timberlake to win Guest Actor awards for SNL. I mean, no one can beat Tina’s Sarah Palin.

The In Memoriam portion of the show made both Mom and I tear up, because there were so many people on that list – Bea Arthur, Patrick Swayze, Farrah Fawcett, Walter Cronkite, and Michael Jackson, among many others. And Sarah McLaughlin singing along with it made it even sadder. But it was one of the best moments of the entire broadcast.

Grey’s Anatomy didn’t win anything – again. Neither did the Office. Basically Mad Men and 30 Rock won EVERYTHING. And rightly so, as they were nominated the most. I was keeping my fingers crossed for Lost to win over Mad Men, but I really need to watch that show. I’ll have to download the first season, because I can’t go on being the TV fanatic that I am without watching the Emmy-winning drama series two years in a row. But I was SO EXCITED that Michael Emerson won for Supporting Actor for Lost. I mean, he’s the creepiest character on television. How could he NOT win?

Now to the fashion. I musn’t leave it out.


Heidi looked so freaking fierce at 8 months pregnant it was ridiculous.


Not too school-bussy, Jennifer Love Hewitt’s dress popped against the red carpet.


Sigourney Weaver is 59 years old. Seriously.


I looooooved the neckline here on Ginnifer Goodwin. I wish I could wear a neckline like that.


It’s almost uncanny how much Angela (from the Office) does NOT dress like Angela Kinsey. And this dress made her look much taller than she is. Stunning.


Damnit, woman. You’re the same age as my mom for crying out loud. Julia Louis-Dreyfus, how come you’re so fabulous?


Kaley Cuoco looked so glamorous, and up on stage with her nerdtastic co-stars, it was perfect.

I already mentioned how great Kristin Chenoweth, NPH and Toni Collette looked, so now I’ll mention the fashion that was less than stellar.


Kristen Wiig looks awesome, but the dress looks like it belongs in the Empire Strikes Back.


What the hell Leighton? How come you looked fashion-forward at the VMAs last weekend, but looked old and drab with way too dark lipstick at the Emmys. Just because you’re not surrounded by tweens doesn’t mean you have to dress like you’re 50.


Because Padma has a perfect body, I wouldn’t have a problem with the dress if it didn’t have that wonky patch of red flowers on her hip.


Ack. What and WHO is that?


Not the time, not the place. And besides, it’s basically a sheet wrapped around her torso.


Your husband outdid you, Kyra. This mauve, flower-appliqued dress made you look old.


Jeanne Tripplehorn’s dress was terribly unflattering on her figure, and a bad shape plus tons of sequins equals just bad.

And I forgot to say how ridiculous Patricia Arquette looked.

This post was kind of jumbled, but I’m sick and my head isn’t completely clear.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

