so I’m either broke or dead. those are my options, GOP.

18 Aug

I’m going to talk about politics. I don’t like to often, seeing that things have gone my way for the most part (except of course that beef I have with California) so far in the last year, and I don’t want to jinx the great streak our dear Pres has right now.

But I was at the gym tonight, watching “Hardball” on MSNBC, even though I’m not a huge fan of Chris Matthews. He was on after Rachel Maddow, so I didn’t bother changing the channel. The entire show tonight was about Healthcare reform, and the public’s opinion of Obama’s bill, the language, the consequences, yadda yadda yadda.

I’ve been on Obama’s side the entire time with his government-run healthcare program. Right now, it wouldn’t affect me either way, because my Dad has the best healthcare plan I can think of. He’s been with Boeing for 30 years, and I think that with our middle-class lifestyle, we’re pretty well-off when it comes to Dad’s insurance benefits. If we didn’t have Dad’s insurance, we’d be broke. Seriously, or at least we’d be in trouble of being broke. For one thing – my father has sleep apnea, my mom has had ankle surgery after ankle surgery, and then a blood-clot, which left her on coumadin (blood thinners) for a year. And then there’s me. I not only was on topical steroids for years for “psoriasis,” I had braces for five, a palette expander for 2, and now I’m on some of the most intensive drugs you can get. It doesn’t hurt that my disease affects under 1 in 20,000 people in the US. Being rare, it’s hard to get treatment that is widely accepted by insurance companies. Once every two months I get pumped full of immunoglobulin, or IV/IG for short. It’s REALLY expensive. I mean, that’s the drug that would make us broke if we didn’t have good insurance. Prednisone is more prominent, so it’s not as hard to get covered. Then there’s the methotrexate, which in itself, is a form of chemotherapy. It sucks, because it makes me nauseated and gives me headaches, but without it, I don’t know what my muscles would do.

And just in case you were wondering, I was LUCKY last time that my disease didn’t affect my heart, because it is a muscle too, after all.

Bringing that all back to healthcare – I’m grateful. I’m lucky. We’re lucky. But sadly enough, the job I’m going for is kind of in the balance right now. I don’t know where my “job” will be in a couple years when I graduate. And if I’m not in school, I don’t stay on my parent’s plan, and if I don’t have a job, I don’t have money. And if I don’t have money, I don’t have insurance. And you see the dreaded cycle. Without insurance, I don’t have medications. And then I get back to an unhealthy and sickly weight, with a layer of skin peeling off a day. Basically, I’d waste away. At least it could happen. We don’t know that for sure. But with healthcare, we don’t have to worry about that.

HERE ARE THE FACTS, because I don’t feel like explaining it here, because that isn’t what I do.

So without this government-run healthcare, I’m screwed. Even if I get a job, it won’t have nearly the amount of insurance I’d need to cover my medical expenses. And I’d go broke, having to live off welfare, while I have a job. And in turn, you’d be paying for welfare, which is a government agency. So all you people who are opposed to a universal healthcare, PLEASE change your mind, because you either pay for our healthcare now before we get sick, or you pay for us to live after we go broke.

Either way, you’re not going to be happy. Obama’s not trying to kill old people. But to be honest, I wouldn’t mind if he was. It would just make societal progression go so much faster. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating, but people aren’t happy with our healthcare system right now. And they’re not happy with the plan Obama has to fix it. Why should they be? There are plenty of other countries with universal healthcare that run smoothly and harmoniously.

Like I said before, I’m moving to Sweden RIGHT NOW.

They have hot Nordic Adonises AND public healthcare.

I mean, good god.

PLEASE.

Watch these:
http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/tue-april-21-2009/the-stockholm-syndrome-pt–1
http://www.thedailyshow.com/watch/wed-april-22-2009/the-stockholm-syndrome-pt–2

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

