I have a genius idea

17 Aug

The other day, I was watching this clip on The Soup with Joel McHale of the Teen Choice Awards, and I was disgusted. Utterly ashamed that I have to call myself an American.

Really. This actually happened. Now, I’ve always been appalled at how ridiculously famous Miley Cyrus has become, merely because I’m older now and don’t “get” Disney stars anymore. But this clip, honest-to-god, made me miss Lizzie McGuire. I swear. I miss old school Hilary Duff. This made me miss the lame straight-to-video movies the Olsen Twins spit out once a year, and it made me miss freaking Even Stevens for god’s sakes. Kids shows now are even more shallow than they used to be.

Oh, and Miley Cyrus is SUCH a great role model.

WTF?

Okay, so she wasn’t “pole dancing” per say, but it was a freaking stripper pole. And short shorts, and a prop trailer park trailer. Like, really? Really Teen Choice Awards? What are parents going to think when their 12-year-old daughters come up to them and ask to get some short shorts like Miley and dance around a pole? You should be ashamed of yourselves, Cyruses.

And all of this while singing a song called “Party in the USA?” Wow. But to be honest, it’s a pretty accurate depiction of the lesser portion of American culture, not to be a utter snob, but be real people.

But what does all of this have to do with anything?

Well, after I saw this clip, along with a few other things in the media this week that have baffled me – I thought, “what would Spock say about this?”

And then it came to me, not to sound cliche, but to start another blog AS Spock. I’ll have to brush up on some old school Star Trek, but I think it might be fun to have a blog entirely from Spock’s point of view, critiquing the illogicality of American society, as opposed to Vulcan. I’d have to throw my own voice out the door, and adopt Spock’s…interesting way of thinking, and the Vulcan morals and beliefs.

Hehe. I’m actually really excited about this. It may take awhile, but it will inevitably happen.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

