there’s a bright pink bookmark in my interwebs

9 Aug

Do you know what’s cool?

Well, people who aren’t computer or music nerds wouldn’t find this especially cool, but since I am – I find it cool.

I am apart of an elite group of people called “WAS fans.” We all have a shared love for the band We Are Scientists.

Otherwise known as these guys >>>>>

We don’t just love WAS, but with that thread of one band comes a larger common bond – music in general. While my friends have worked 24/7 or taken extravagant trips across the country, sitting at home not being a consumer all summer has become far less excruciating knowing that on the inside of my computer there’s a small community that I can talk to at any time of day. Because we come from all over the world – Washington, California, New York, Alaska, Scotland, Germany, Austria, and England – time zones are no match for us.

Twitter has been the main outlet for our ramblings about everything from WAS to Franz Ferdinand to Harry Potter to American Idol and beyond. The Sci-Cave forums and What’s the Word have also been a place for the long, continent-spanning conversations. I’m not sure why this is such a big deal, but before last year, I didn’t have “friends” all across the world who I knew liked the same things as I did.

And I’d just like to express my appreciation for the fellow members of The Sci-Cave, who love Keith and Chris even more than I do. I honestly don’t think I would have gotten into as many bands as I have without connecting through twitter, last.fm, and the other social networks that I’ve become accustomed to. I actually counted the other day because my mom was wondering who I was referring to in random fits of laughter after reading things online, and I counted that there are about 16 people that follow me on twitter and whom I follow as well, from finding out that we all love one band – We Are Scientists.

Specifically, the title of this post is from a Frightened Rabbit song, another band I just got into, thanks to this common musical bond.

The first We Are Scientists video I ever saw was “It’s a Hit.” I was browsing through the Music Choice videos on demand, and I thought their band name was witty, so I watched it. And I didn’t really think anything of it at the time. I downloaded some songs on limewire before my computer died, and I had this hodgepodge mix of With Love and Squalor, only with older versions of the songs, and out of order. I still have that CD somewhere in my room. “Lousy Reputation” is the first song on it, so for the longest time, I thought that’s what order the songs were supposed to be in. But then I think it was around last February when I rediscovered how much I loved this band. I was on the Lonely Island’s Youtube page, and I saw “After Hours” listed under their videos. I was like, “hey, I know this band.” And I watched it. And I downloaded With Love and Squalor again, and listened to it. Again. And again.

And then I saw WAS play last summer. Thirteen months ago to be exact. It was July 9th. I skipped my English 101 class I had to make up once I found out that UWT didn’t take the score of 3 on the AP test. It took my sister and I weeks before we convinced my mom to let us go. She wasn’t going to let us. Libby had volleyball the next day – early, and Mom didn’t want me to skip class. Literally, it was the day of the show and she finally gave in.

I’m so freaking glad she gave in.

If she hadn’t given in, I would have never seen the Morning Benders, which is now one of my other favorite bands, and I would never have experienced such an amazing, intimate show – full of dancing, low lights, loud music, no air conditioning, and Keith bounding into the crowd right where I was standing.

And I never would have not cut in front of Adrian in line outside Neumos.

And then I never would have mentioned it on this very blog, sending it to Renee at What’s the Word for other WAS fans to read, and no one else would have read it.

And…I’m not going to say “the rest in history” because that would be the worst cliche ever.

So I’ll just leave it at

And…

Oh, but I must express my utter joy with the prospect of a new album. Cause uh… NEW SONGS!

I’m digging them all. I’m just upset that there isn’t more of “Nice Guys.”

โค Abby

8 Responses to “there’s a bright pink bookmark in my interwebs”

  1. Kerstin 08/09/2009 at 11:25 pm #

    awww….this was super adorable. I too love being able to connect with so many ppl from all over the world talking about WAS and other things. it’s really wonderful. we are a lovely community, aren’t we? x

  2. abbigshmail 08/09/2009 at 11:32 pm #

    Why yes we are. I’m just so damn anxious for them to come back to anywhere remotely near Seattle.

  3. adrian 08/10/2009 at 12:12 am #

    “And I never would have not cut in front of Adrian in line outside Neumos.”

    and I am very glad you did that.

    yayyy for WAS fans! hip hip hooray!

  4. erin / gusset 08/10/2009 at 1:42 am #

    sometimes it seems as though people who like WAHS are, pretty much, the top of the pops.

    (and you DON’T cut Adrian or else she will CUT YOU.)

    • adrian 08/10/2009 at 1:55 am #

      at first I read “top of the poops”.

      *giggle*

  5. Laura 08/10/2009 at 1:46 am #

    Aw Abby, that’s such a lovely post to read! And 100% true. WAS fans rule. FACT. ๐Ÿ™‚ x

  6. Amanda 08/10/2009 at 3:49 am #

    Great post! Even though I don’t frequent the WAS board much anymore, I’m all about the WAS love.. Thanks for posting the new videos, too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Twitted by cougarswithguns - 08/10/2009

    […] This post was Twitted by cougarswithguns […]

Leave a Reply

