Pandas are bomb-diggity

8 Aug


Sooo….by now, most people would get how much I've been utterly obsessed with Animal Collective this summer. After catching a half hour of their set at Sasquatch, I fell in love with their sound, their energy, the crowd, and the voice of Panda Bear.

That dude, up there ^.

Today, Animal Collective played at Lollapalooza in Chicago, and because the internet is awesome, I watched the live webcast of their show, and it was A-MAZING. Okay, so not quite as amazing as seeing them live at the Gorge, but the cool thing about the webcast was that the camera panned across the stage from Geologist, Avey Tare, and Panda Bear so we could see them up close. I mean, when we saw them at Sasquatch, all I could see was Avey Tare's goofy bucket hat and Panda Bear's head just swaying with the beat.

But seeing them up close as they were performing was a completely different experience.

And I must say – I love Panda Bear. I was listening to Person Pitch, Panda Bear's second solo album, and it's an almost explicable album. Like one that has no genre, that makes you feel all different kinds of stuff, like the soundtrack to a drug-induced haze, but you don't know what drug you're on. But at the same time, you feel like you're a kid running through cold sprinklers in the sweltering heat, or riding the merry-go-round, dizzying but exciting.

I think I've made enough analogies.

You get the picture.

Watch the videos. WATCH THEM. Avey Tare is so spazmatic, which is a nice counter to Panda Bear’s utter chillness while being completely engrossing.

I actually just read a perfect comment on the bottom of the second video, Youtube user danforealz said “i just get a orgasm in my brain when i listen to Animal Collective… i guess thats how i can best describe what i feel when i listen to them…”

I guess you could say that, yeah.

If I ever make a movie, or at least act as music supervisor for a good one (which would be awesome, right?) I will hire Panda Bear (Noah Lennox) to provide the most amazing soundtrack. Right? Would it be fan-fucking-tastic?

I believe that it would.

I think that’s enough gushing for now. But seriously, if they could back anytime soon, I will be jumping at the first chance to get tickets.

❤ Abby

2 Responses to “Pandas are bomb-diggity”

  1. erin 02/08/2010 at 1:55 pm #

    actually, Noah Lennox did do the music for a film!

    the short film “Fish Sticks” by Andrew Drazek:

    he also starred in it (back when he went Boston University), and some of the songs which I guess he composed for it ended up on his first album!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s a Cornucopia of LOVE! « THIS IS A TANGENT. - 10/06/2009

    […] I just got an orgasm in my brain. But honestly, Phoenix could pair up with anyone and it would work, because every song from Wolfgang […]

Leave a Reply

