I’ve got it covered.

3 Aug

Puns are lame. 90s, you can take back your jokes. Anyway, I was especially musically inclined today, seeing that two new We Are Scientists songs HAVE SURFACED on the interwebs from the many shows they played over the last 4 days. And I’m UBER STOKED to hear the other two. I’m just hoping someone managed to record them and just haven’t uploaded them yet. So I’ve decided to compile a list of my favorite covers EVER, recorded for an album or not. And I specifically disregarded American Idol covers, because those are in a completely different category.

These are in no particular order.

The Morning Benders do Sinatra’s “Strangers in the Night.” I saw this band last summer open for WAS, and they didn’t disappoint me in the least, and this song fits so well with their old-soul-but-young-vibe sound. A+ for the Morning Benders. They also do an excellent cover or “I Wanna Be Like You,” as in, the Jungle Book. Seriously.

We Are Scientists do Boyz II Men’s “End of the World.” So awesome. So fantastic. I wish I was there. Damnit I miss Tapper.

Ben Folds does Dr. Dre’s “Bitches Ain’t Shit.” It’s so ridiculous, but Ben is so earnest in this cover, you can’t help but laugh. And all the videos on Youtube were either crappy live recordings or like THIS.

Jenny Owen Youngs does Nelly’s “Hot in Herre.” Another mash-up the weirdest ends of the spectrum, and it works so flawlessly. And even more fitting, the EP it’s featured on is called “The Take Off All Your Clothes EP.”

Johnny Cash does Nine Inch Nails’ “Hurt.” This song makes me tear up a bit every time I hear it, and it’s better than the original.

My Brightest Diamond does Nina Simone’s “Feeling Good.” Actually, I have four versions of this song in my library, including the original, Michael Buble’s version, and Muse’s version. And they all rock, I just like this one the best because of Shara’s AMAZING vibrato.

We Are Scientists do Sigur Ros’ “Hoppipolla.” (And to be honest, all of WAS’s covers rock. Art Brut’s “Bang Bang Rock and Roll,” “Be My Baby,” Ace of Base’s “All That She Wants,” and this next one.)

Lightspeed Champion w/Keith Murray of WAS do Tears for Fears’ “Head over Heels.” What can I say, I love Keith. My favorite part is at 1:58 when Dev doubles the guitar and makes Keith laugh.

Say Anything does ODB’s “Got Your Money.” My sister downloaded the “Punk Goes Crunk” album awhile ago, and the majority of it sucks, with screamo bands shouting out inexplicable lyrics with too much power for a decent recording or whiny emo bands, but this song made me literally LOL. Say Anything has always been not so serious, and this is a perfect example of that.

Dr. Dog do Architecture in Helsinki’s “Heart it Races.” You take two great bands with completely different styles and you get this. Awesome.

The City on Film does Dexy’s Midnight Runners’ “Come on Eileen.” It was such a clever way to make this song new. As Bob said, he’s tired of hearing this song used as a parody for drunken frat guys to dance around.

Keane do Bowie and Queen’s “Under Pressure.” I heard that Keane was doing this cover, and I got so excited. And when I heard it, I wasn’t disappointed. If you’re gonna cover a Queen song, it definitely is this one, not Bohemian Rhapsody.

Band of Horses do Grizzly Bear’s “Plans.” I haven’t listened to nearly enough Band of Horses, but I love the old-west feel of this version, but it’s not too heavy on the nostalgia.

Flight of the Conchords do Lynyrd Skynyrd’s “Free Bird.” This was just fucking hilarious. Some dude in the audience was like “Free bird!” “Free bird, that’s not us,” Jemaine said. And they proceeded to actually play Free Bird.

Nirvana do Lead Belly’s “Where Did You Sleep Last Night?” They still play this on the radio today. Hello? It’s so amazing that my Uncle got to see Nirvana’s last show in Seattle before Kurt killed himself.

Adele does Bob Dylan’s “Make You Feel My Love.” I honestly didn’t know so many people covered this song. At first, I thought it was Garth Brooks song, but I was sadly mistaken. I just remember when Kris Allen sang it on American Idol and was like, “hey, I’ve heard that song.” And lo and behold, it was Adele’s version!

The Postal Service do Phil Collins’ “Against all Odds.” Updating a classic without failing, plus Ben Gibbard, you’ve got yourself a great cover.

Iron and Wine does The Postal Service’s “Such Great Heights.” You take a electronic dancey track and make it a lullaby – you go Iron and Wine.

I musn’t forget Ryan Adams doing Oasis’ “Wonderwall.” That’s a classic song, and an equally classic cover. Ryan Adams can do no wrong, I say.

I think that’s enough for now. If I think of more later, I’ll update this post. Or if you think I obviously missed some, let me know.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

