Why in the world did I not watch True Blood last season?

2 Aug

I seriously have no idea.

First of all – it’s from the writers of Six Feet Under, which automatically gives it a one up on the other things on television. Second of all – cable trumps network. And the third and final reason why True Blood is awesome – the vampires have fangs, bite people, and don’t sparkle.

I’ve tried watching a couple episodes of this season, but I couldn’t really get into it without watching any of season one. So I downloaded season one the other day, and I CAN’T STOP WATCHING IT. I finally know why people are so obsessed with it. I will admit, it has a few of the same qualities that Twilight has – the naive girl falling for a vampire, and feeling the taboo from her peers, yadda yadda yadda. But the True Blood vampires are certainly not chaste.

I mean, there’s a lot of sex. A lot.

But most of it isn’t from the vampires, but from Jason Stackhouse (Ryan Kwanten). He’s a slut. In the first three episodes of season 1, he was having sex with 2 different women, and both of them died after they fucked Jason.

I don’t really mind that he’s a slut, since he’s damn attractive.

I mean, look at him.

I’ve watched 4 episodes so far, and I’m already hooked. Bill Compton could not be a more perfect vampire. He’s not a cocky ass like most vampires, but he’s not a pussy like Edward Cullen. And I just love that Stephen Moyer, the actor who plays Bill, is British. He pulls off a Civil War-period New Orleans accent so well. Tara is awesome, and Sookie is just the right amount of adorable and annoying. I mean, for television, you don’t want to like the main character all the time, but you don’t want the main character to be too grating, either. But I just looked up the Emmy noms again, and for some ridiculous reason, True Blood isn’t nominated. WTF? Sure, most of the shows nominated for drama are cable shows, but to not have True Blood in the nominees it just blasphemy. But then again, I don’t think the Emmys are as keen on too much sex. It could be considered gratuitous to some mild-minded voters. Hopefully the Golden Globes will give True Blood its due nomination.

I, for one, don’t have a weak constitution for violence or sex on TV. I’m kind of like a dude that way. Most things don’t shock me in television or movies. But if you crave danger in your TV, WATCH True Blood. If you don’t get HBO, I STRONGLY recommend downloading it online, or renting season one. Seriously.

I figure, since the only thing on television right now that I’m watching is Big Bang Theory reruns and Big Brother, and my British television shows don’t start until winter, I figure I have a new show to watch on my own time, whenever I want to, on my computer screen.

Yay for sexy and dangerous vampires who DON’T sparkle.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

