I really want Hermione’s Time Turner right now

22 Jul

And a few extra hundred bucks. That would be swell.

Why, you may ask?

Well, I’ll break it down. Demetri Martin is coming to the Moore Theater August 22. Already got those tickets, so I’m good. That’s $40 right there.

Jeff Dye is coming to St. Martins on September 3. It’s free, so that’s not a big deal at all, and it’s a Thursday, so that’s no problem. I’ll just go down and hang out with my pals at SMU.

But two days later is Bumbershoot. September 5-7. And here’s where my dilemma lies. I’m going monday the 7th. No doubt about that. Franz Ferdinand is playing that day, as well as Modest Mouse, and Nick Swardson, and Doug Benson, and Maria Bamford, and the Black Eyed Peas while I’m at it. But Patton Oswalt is playing that night at the SAME TIME as Franz. Now lets just say Patton has the most plays in my Last.fm library as far as comedians go. Maria Bamford having the second most. The two of them, plus Demetri Martin make my comedic trifecta of awesomeness. Jeff Dye would be included in that if I could actually get a hold of his album, but anyway. The thing is, Patton is also playing the other two days of Bumbershoot, NOT during other acts that I want to see. So I could very well go all three days and see Patton Oswalt twice, and see Wyatt Cenac, and Matt & Kim, and All-American Rejects, and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, and Natalie Portman’s Shaved Head.

But you see, all three days are $80, whereas one day is $35. I would never pay for just two days, because that’s wasting money when I could just pay $10 more for the third day.

THERE IS ONE FINAL CRUX IN THE STORY. Fucking Patton Oswalt is coming to the Moore on September 18, which just happens to be during the MusicFest NW in Portland, for which I desperately want to go. I’ve emailed the volunteer coordinator asking about working the four-day festival within the city, but I’ll probably just end up going the 19th, that saturday to see The Morning Benders. I’ve been really anxious to hear their new stuff after I saw them open for WAS last summer. And I missed out on the chance at seeing them at Chop Suey a few months ago.

There would another problem if Arj Barker’s show at the Showbox wasn’t 21+. But thankfully, I still have a good ten months to get that right.

Right now, the problems aren’t so much the time dilemmas, except the Patton/Franz thing on monday at Bumbershoot, but more the MONEY dilemma. I don’t have a job right now. In fact, I think I might still be getting paid at UWT for Ledger, which is weird because none of us work during summer quarter, but anyway. I can’t spend all my hard-earned money on shows. I would love to, for sure, but I’d like to save my money for other things.

So, I think I’ll skip Patton at The Moore because I can see him TWICE at Bumbershoot if I pay for the three days.

Demetri: $40
Jeff Dye: $0
Bumbershoot (full of AWESOME PERFORMERS) $80 (but worth it)(unless I win tickets from SPIN)
MFNW 09: $20 (I think I’ll just go one day, unless I get an email back from the volunteer guy, and I’m trying to make connections in the music biz, see what I’m doing here?)(that plus all the tweeting @ the 107.7 The End DJs)

And I think that’s it. So…40+0+80+20=140 (unless I win tickets or somehow get a volunteer job)

If this all works out, I’ll get to see ALL OF THESE PEOPLE!


It’ll be okay that I can’t see him

because I already saw him with them

This shall be awesome. *Please work please work please work*

❤ Abby

2 Responses to “I really want Hermione’s Time Turner right now”

  1. Bumbershoot 07/23/2009 at 9:29 am #

    If you’re open to volunteering and super crushed for dough, spend some time with One Reel this summer http://www.bumbershoot.org/volunteering.htm, and EARN your tickets. Just don’t volunteer during the festival if you have tons of stuff you want to see, because that would suck. Check out the Street Team for best pre-festival opportunities, but we also need help during load-in!

    Good luck, and looking forward to seeing you at the ‘Shoot, one way or another. 🙂

    • abbigshmail 07/23/2009 at 9:32 am #

      As a matter of fact, I did fill out an application on the website, so I’m way ahead of you.

Leave a Reply

