Farewell – you crazy, talented man

7 Jul

This is far too late to mention this – but unless you live in a hole, under the sea, twenty-thousand leagues under the sea, without cable or Wifi – you already know that Michael Jackson died 12 days ago. He was one of 4 deaths within the span of 5 days. But by far, it was the most tragic.

I, personally have never been a huge Michael Jackson fan. Not that I didn’t like his music, it was just a little before my time, and I didn’t grow up with his music. Mom didn’t have a lot of soul. But nonetheless, the man was the King of freaking Pop. His contribution to music was undeniable.

And honestly, watching this memorial, it makes me get teary-eyed a little bit. All of the love coming from Smokey Robinson, Brook Shields, Magic Johnson, and Michael’s kids makes me forget about the crazy shit that went down the last ten years of his life. And I just hope that’s how it happens. He was on the heels of a comeback, and it would have been the time where people were going to accept him into pop culture once again, the man that changed music forever.

I didn’t want to watch this memorial, since I’d been hearing so much of this for the last 12 days, but as a music lover and as someone who cares about music, I felt obligated. In the words of Berry Gordy, the man who founded Motown Records and found Michael Jackson – he was the greatest entertainer than ever lived.

It’s sad. I’m sad. And I’m especially sad that some media figures are still caught up on his insane lifestyle the last decade of his life and the fact that he may or may not have touched little boys in bad ways. I mean, really? Now? What good is it going to do to look back on all the bad things when you could look back on all the great things? It just makes those media peeps look so much more douchebaggy. When the trial was going on, I was on their side, I’ll admit. He probably did do those things, but he’s the King of Pop. Music (and music videos, I may add) would not be the same without him. Now that he’s gone, give it up. It’s over. I mean, Kobe Bryant totally raped that girl and people still love him, and he’s not even dead. As well as the fact that he’s a basketball player and Michael Jackson was, I say once again, the King of freaking Pop.

Farewell, Michael Jackson. You thrilled us, made us ogle at your one shiny white glove and your flawless moonwalk, and made is especially remember the good ol’ days when afros were the norm and you still resembled your family members. You were truly an anomaly. A brilliant, kooky anomaly.

But Billie Jean was definitely not his lover. We know that by now.

❤ Abby

2 Responses to “Farewell – you crazy, talented man”

  1. Casper 07/07/2009 at 11:20 pm #

    Love it.

    I cried too =(.

  2. Kerstin 07/07/2009 at 11:35 pm #

    that was lovely. I agree with you in everything you said. This is how I feel about him. Not a soul/r ‘n b fan whatsoever, but hearing his songs is different. I’ve always liked the songs I heard, well mainly the singles and all. but I take him over every justin timberlake and usher etc. any time. they are all nothing compared to him. really. that’s just my POW.

    And I haven’t watched much of the memorial so far, but when his daughter spoke it broke my heart. From the first time I heard of his death I could only think of his kids. and her short speech yesterday shows everyone that he was not “just” that great entertainer, singer, dancer and yes, also a person that got accused of child molestation, but that he was obviously a very loving and caring father whose children loved him and are truly hurt by his death. oh well… I hope they’ll be able to cope and not get separated and be taken care of s.o. who loves them.

    another thing? koby bryant raped a girl? and ppl still support him? I didn’T know that.

Leave a Reply

