Countdown (Sick for the big sun)

7 Jun

I probably should have started a countdown a week or so ago. At least not a month ago like last year. That was overkill. This year’s underkill.

TWO DAYS TO SUMMER VACATION!

I should be studying for my Literature final, and yet I still haven’t started. I work better under pressure. I’ll study tomorrow. I promise. Heck, it’s the last day before the test, so I either study tomorrow, or I don’t study at all. To be perfectly honest, the latter sounds so much more desirable right now, but I figure it wouldn’t be so good for my GPA.

Oh, my headline is a Phoenix song, in case you were wondering. And I’m not sure if the song itself pertains to anything I’m saying, so it may seem completely irrelevant, so I apologize, but the title works. The “big sun” being summer vacation. Makes sense, right? It’s a good song, so don’t make such a big deal of it if it doesn’t make that much sense.

I’m rambling.

But then again, isn’t this all just rambling?

I strategically titled this blog “this is a tangent” to keep it completely void of a theme. It’s not all diary, it’s not all reviews, it’s not all gossip, it’s not all angry rants, it’s all of everything! However, I probably shouldn’t have taken on such a responsibility to tackle everything with my blog.

Oh well.

So, two days left. And what do I have planned?

Nothing. I’ll be ordering a new lens coming up here pretty soon. I’ve applied to two places for jobs so far. Torrid isn’t hiring for a month, and Walgreens doesn’t technically open until August, but I figured I’d apply now to get a head start. And really, I wouldn’t mind having a whole month off. I could work out a lot, shed some pounds, read a book or two, maybe reread Half-Blood Prince and work on my own novel. A month of no responsibilities sounds so delicious right now, but I know my mother would go crazy with me in the house all the time. But I sure as hell am not taking summer classes. Maybe next summer. If I decide it’s sane.

What else do I not have planned?

Oh! I think I should have a Fourth of July get-together…somewhere. I feel like that lame ass holiday has fallen by the wayside, and I want to do something myself for once. For the last 7 years, we’ve accompanied family friends to Emerald Downs for their fireworks show and cover band concert. It’s either been the Beatniks or Hells Belles (an all-girl AC/DC cover band). But then again, that’s always on the 3rd. So what do we even do on the 4th? Oh, I know what I did last year. I met my ex’s parents for the first and only time, on his boat at the Tacoma marina. I want to have something exciting happen. Cause some mischief. I’m not a teenager anymore, so I can’t really get away with causing mischief much longer without looking like a fool.

I’m probably sounding like a fool right now. But frankly, my dear – I don’t give a damn!

Random classic movie quote. o.O

We have the last issue of the school year of the Ledger coming out tuesday. It’s a bittersweet feeling knowing that a few cool peeps aren’t coming back next year, but I’m glad to be able to start a whole new year with some new recruits. We NEED a photographer. I miss Ingy, and I still technically co-own the camera with my sister. She hasn’t had it all year, and I feel bad for commandeering it. And I can’t be on campus all the time at the drop of a hat. Yes, I have a pretty open schedule most of the time, but for me to get to campus, $2.75 gets charged to my parents’ Good To Go passes account. I’d prefer not to cross the bridge when I don’t have to. So if anyone has a decent camera (NOT A POINT-AND-SHOOT preferably), likes and knows how to take good photos, and if you know basic web design, it’s vital that we have you on staff next year. I don’t want to have to leave my camera in the office for people to use when I’m not there, and we don’t want to do the website every issue. Plus, our website kinda sucks. Nope, it REALLY sucks.

How should I spend my 1000th tweet? I just posted my 999th, and I need something profound to say within 140 characters. I’d rather not quote Descartes.

You gotta see this.

This is MY high school. A kid smoking a joint during a speech about the legalization of marijuana. Kid’s a dumbass, but you gotta give it to him – he’s got balls to go up there, smoke the joint, and swallow the roach to destroy the evidence. Kudos, PHS guy who isn’t afraid of getting arrested.

And my sister made a very good point yesterday after explaining Ian Barry’s speech – the only reason technically that marijuana was made illegal was because the government couldn’t tax it. If they legalized marijuana, the government would now tax the shit out of it. So you potheads out there – you either stay sneaky with your weed and not pay mondo taxes, the way you’ve always done it, or pay way too much to smoke it in public. Hmm… I’d say – stay sneaky.

❤ Abby

2 Responses to “Countdown (Sick for the big sun)”

  1. Patrick R 06/08/2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Nah, I disagree. I’d rather have marijuana legalized, so that I could go to my local Target and pick it up on a Saturday evening when I can’t get ahold of a dealer. Plus, if everyone were allowed to sell it, it would be even cheaper than it is now! Fuck yes?

    • abbigshmail 06/08/2009 at 8:58 pm #

      That makes me laugh. To think about taking a trip to Target to buy some pot, like it’s Tylenol or a pint of rocky road, so nonchalantly. Although it’s funnier to substitute Target for Walmart, because pretty much everything is funnier if it involves Walmart.

Leave a Reply

