A Space-Aged Bromance!

11 May

I’ve never been an uber fan of Star Trek, Star Wars, or any other franchise involving space. I like earthly matters. Rain, gravity, oxygen – those things are comforting. But I will tell you, after going to see Star Trek tonight, I haven’t been so entertained by a movie since…well, Slumdog. Granted, I’ve seen a few movies since then – none of which living up to the expectations presented in marketing campaigns. Case in point, Wolverine, which I saw last weekend.

Star Trek has left Wolverine in the dust, and that pretty much sucks for Wolverine, because there’s no way it’s hitting no. 1 at the box office now that Star Trek has surpassed its expectations.

J.J. Abrams has been involved in some interesting projects, some of which aren’t related at all – such shows as Lost, Alias, and Felicity? That last one threw me for a loop, but his latest project, Star Trek is, as the marketing campaign calls it “not your father’s Star Trek.” I wouldn’t know really, because my father was never a trekkie, but I get what they were saying. This film included all the token aspects of the original series, laser guns, the U.S.S. Enterprise, certain choreographed moves on the actors’ part where they all move in one direction when the ship is hit, and, of course, Leonard Nimoy. To be honest, I’d heard the name, but wasn’t aware of its significance until I saw a rerun of the Big Bang Theory when Penny gives Sheldon a signed napkin from Leonard Nimoy that said “Live long and prosper,” and that he wiped his mouth on.

Now I’ve been educated in the sheer badassness of Leonard Nimoy, and I’ll never forget the name again.

But what made this film “not your father’s Star Trek” were the new editions – namely Zachary Quinto, Chris Pine, John Cho, and Simon Pegg. I don’t know where I heard it, but at one point, I read that Matt Damon was originally going to be cast as James T. Kirk, but I for one, am very glad they didn’t pick Matt Damon. Nothing against Matt Damon – but this movie wouldn’t have worked with actors with extensive careers. They’d carry too much baggage. Just think if Kirk was Matt Damon and Spock was Ed Norton. I didn’t actually hear anything about the latter, but I’m just thinking hypothetically. The success wouldn’t have worked the way it did. People would expect great things, but because of the actors. Pine and Quinto are relatively new to the Hollywood scene – Pine appearing in the second, and far inferior Princess Diaries movie, and Quinto exclusively as Sylar in Heroes for the last couple of years. And truthfully, Quinto’s television role was probably the most noticeable role for any of the actors. Eric Bana has sure been in some blockbusters in the past, but him being made up as Nero made him almost unrecognizable. I surely wouldn’t have guessed it was him if I hadn’t seen it on IMDB. Now that’s some good make up artist that made Eric Bana unattractive.

But what hit me as odd, and almost disturbing, was that I found Spock attractive. It may be because I’ve been such a big Sylar fan since Heroes started, but Zachary Quinto brought a quiet sensitivity to the otherwise cold Spock. He does pretty much the same thing as Sylar, only he has to also bring murderous villain to the table in Heroes. He has a broad range of characters that he’s played – comedic, dramatic, evil but conflicted, sensitive, and Vulcan. He stayed true to the character, but didn’t imitate Nimoy. From the trailers, I didn’t expect the love story to turn out how it did, but I won’t divulge any more information if you haven’t seen the movie yet.

Chris was a perfect choice for Kirk – stubborn, cocky, but brilliant. And again, he didn’t imitate Shatner’s signature line delivery style, but updated the role and made it his own. It’s a difficult feat to take such a beloved franchise and not mock it while stayed true to the original.

Being new to the story, I personally enjoyed the love-hate relationship Spock and Kirk shared. Seeing both of their childhoods let the audience see how conflicted the two of them were. It was so bromantic to see how their relationship went from Spock exiling Kirk off the Enterprise to the two of them running the Enterprise together. Star Trek was a good example of jumping into the origins of characters. Wolverine was a bad example. What also made the story even more complex was the time traveling aspect with Nimoy, but it didn’t seem completely irrelevant – it had every bit to do with the main problem at hand, Nero’s vengeance and the black holes.

Finally, the humor wasn’t cheesy, but not completely understated. I especially loved the sequence when McCoy kept shooting Kirk with different vaccines – initializing several different reactions, including incredibly bloated hands and a “numb tongue.” There were actually a few moments when I literally laughed out loud. But I didn’t feel dirty after laughing. You know sometimes in movies where the humor seems so forced and inorganic, or just strictly ridiculous, that you feel sleazy if you laugh? This was one film where that didn’t happen.

Now, I won’t go as far to say this film will be nominated for any major awards – maybe some special effects Oscars and some Saturn Awards definitely, but as far as summer blockbusters go – Star Trek is a fantastic way to start out the season.

❤ Abby

(And I’ll just say that I freaking love Spock. Even with this stupid haircut and pointy eyebrows. He just has to put on these glasses and the eyebrows don’t even matter.)

<3<3<3

One Response to “A Space-Aged Bromance!”

  1. mcarteratthemovies 08/10/2009 at 1:59 pm #

    I’m a Trekkie only in the sense that I watched the entire original series because I found Leonard Nimoy in Spock getup to be insanely hot (must be the pointy ears … or that eyebrow thing he does). But I really enjoyed the 2009 remake because it did a few things different while still paying homage to the original and keeping a sense of humor. I mean, Tyler Perry in a “Star Trek” movie? This movie has, in my mind, revived a long-dead series. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

    http://mcarteratthemovies.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

