It’s about time for a post.

3 May

Because there’s a lot to talk about.

First of all – OHMAGOD PUSHING DAISIES.


Oh, yes I can Emerson Cod.

I should let you know that the final three unaired episodes will start airing ON MY BIRTHDAY. How awesome of a birthday present is that? I know, I’m a nerd. But it’s exciting. But today, via Twitter @nedthepiemaker, I found out that those same final three episodes leaked online. LEAKED. ONLINE. I will repeat – FUCKING LEAKED ON FUCKING LINE.


No, Olive. I’m not kidding.

Yeah, so I was psyched. And I proceeded to download them, because knowing that these final episodes were at my fingertips, I couldn’t wait until the end of the month.

And I watched all three of them today.

To be honest, I wished I hadn’t. Yes, there were too many loose ends to tie up before, but now there are even more. Not that they were bad episodes – they were AMAZING. I won’t divulge anything specific, but shit goes down. Lots.

My point exactly, Ned.

And I can’t believe ABC cancelled this show and picked up Private Practice. Wait, I know why.

Sex. Ned and Chuck can never have sex, and all the characters on Private Practice are doing it with eachother all the time. I’ve probably said this many times before, but I will say it again. Can I just once watch a quality show that doesn’t get cancelled? Okay, so Lost, Grey’s Anatomy, Heroes, and many other shows have not been cancelled, but shows that have been cancelled – Freaks and Geeks, Wonderfalls, Pushing Daisies, POSSIBLY CHUCK, Six Feet Under, and others I can’t remember at the moment.

But you get my point.

Thank god Bryan Fuller has signed a deal with DC comics to do a Pushing Daisies comic book series. Now that will be a comic book I read. And I don’t even read comic books. Maybe they can do a movie. Dead Like Me did it. Come on, Disney. You have more money than God.

I think they really do.

According to South Park Mickey Mouse they do.

Oh, I just watched the rerun of this season’s South Park premiere, and holy shit it was genius. Go find it. Now. I’ll just give you a little hint.

“The Jonas Brothers make little girls’ gineys tickle. And when little girls’ gineys tickle, I make money! Ha hah!”

It was awesome.

Now onto music news – Bat for Lashes, aka Natasha Khan.

She has become my new chill music. Natasha reminds me of Cat Power, PJ Harvey, and a bit of mixing like Patrick Wolf. She sounds ethereal, yet with folky and sometimes oddly 80s-inspired backing music. It is the definition of chill. It’s the kind of music I could see at a modern-day Woodstock. And it doesn’t hurt that Natasha’s personal style is unmistakably flower child.

And I love it. She was on David Letterman the other day, and she sounds just as lovely live as she does on her new record, Two Suns. If you like female vocalists with a bit more edge than Sara Bareilles and Colbie Caillat, I highly recommend Natash–wait, Bat for Lashes.

What was so funny though, when I first heard the name “Bat for Lashes,” I first thought it was one of those clone punk-ish, pop-ish, lame-ish bands like All-Time Low, Secondhand Serenade, Boys Like Girls, or any of the other bands who look like they take more time in the morning than I do to get ready. All those bands that came after The All-American Rejects and tried to be clever with their band names, but ended up just sounding lame.

But I was pleasantly surprised with what I heard. I had the same misconceptions with Ida Maria. For some reason, I kept thinking of Inara George or Maria Taylor. But again, I WAS WRONG. Ida Maria is pretty badass, and I’m really surprised I saw her video for “I Like You So Much Better When You’re Naked” on MTV. Yes, Ida Maria is Norwegian, but she sounds so similar to those British bands that have been so ignored by MTV. I just hope they don’t exploit Ida’s coolness.

MTV – you’re on probation. You’ve done some shitty stuff in the past. You’ve also done some amazing stuff though, like exposing the world to Nirvana. But The Hills. The Hills, MTV. You’re gonna have to do a lot to make up with the stain called The Hills that you put on society. You did have a show about a high school newspaper, a ridiculous one, but still. But you dropped TRL.

Hmm…it’s a tough one.

But speaking TRL, it reminded me of something I thought about the other day.

I have to give Carson Daly some props for taking the shithole timeslot he has been given and doing something cool with it. It doesn’t matter what ratings he gets because it’s 1:30 in the morning, and it doesn’t matter how many people watch. I watched about a month ago, and he went to the studio with Lykki Li and interviewed her there, and he goes to these venues with unappreciated bands to give them some exposure. He doesn’t sit in the SNL studio and do the stereotypical talk show anymore. Last week he sat down and talked to Jack and Kelly Osbourne, and he honestly is interested in what these people are saying. He seems like a really down to earth person, and I think the lack of MTV has humbled him in a way. He didn’t get the late night gig after Conan got moved up to the Tonight Show, and now he doesn’t have to pretend to be something he’s not. He’s not funny. That’s a fact. But he knows music. He’s always known music, and that’s what he’s decided to do with his show now.

Good for him for being innovative.

Onto the final part of this post – Wolverine.

I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never seen an X-Men movie before this. And I only went last night because my sister dragged me.

And I’m kind of upset that I didn’t see another one before this, because this one gave me a bad taste in my mouth. I wasn’t pissed that I went and saw it, because it was entertaining, but if I had to do it again, I wouldn’t pay the $8.50 to go see it.

Reasons being:
Special effects sucked.
Dominic Monaghan died.
Jackman’s facial hair annoys the hell out of me.
Ryan Reynolds turned into a creepy mouthless mutant at the end.
Apparently Wolverine was a lumberjack in Canada before he lost his memory?
Man in plaid walking away from flaming barn – can you say MacGruber?
And Sylar is a way better Sylar than Sabretooth.

Regarding that last one – I never realized how similar X-Men was to Heroes. I’m a little peeved about it, because X-Men obviously came before Heroes, and that means Heroes stole the idea from X-Men. Striker = Arthur Petrelli. Sylar = Sabretooth. Wolverine = Nathan + Peter? I don’t know, but the idea of rounding up all the “people with abilities” and one going rogue and killing people “like him” to take their powers sounded so familiar it was weird to watch.

But like I said before – Sylar is a way better Sylar than Sabretooth: case in point – no annoying muttonchops and gross fingernails.

I was way more excited to see Star Trek anyway. And Harry Potter. And Transformers. And Taking Woodstock. And 500 Days of Summer.

But we did get to see Hugh Jackman’s ass.

Oh I love the summer blockbuster season.

That’s enough for now. Wow. Long post.

Oh well, I’ll post a song. I might as well.
Ida Maria – “Keep Me Warm” (this was the song in Grey’s Anatomy when Meredith made the outline of her and Derek’s house with candles.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

