the hero who saves the day

24 Mar

Photobucket

I love my puppies.

Well, the big brown one on the left is mine, and the little brown and white one on the right is my uncle’s. And she’s the only puppy. Millie (the big brown one) is 10 years old. Lucy is 5 1/2 months old. She and my uncle dropped by for awhile for dinner tonight. Mom made minestrone soup. It was delicious.

Oh, “the hero who saves the day” is the Patton Oswalt track that I’m listening to right now, and it really has no significance, but it’s funny. Then again, all of Patton’s stand up is funny. You know who else’s is funny? Rhys Darby (aka Murray Hewitt of Flight of the Conchords). His stand up is so crazy and loud and dynamic, you can’t help but laugh. I was in a Conchords mood today, because I was thinking about ways I could get tickets to their show in May. Then I also thought about how fucking busy May will be.

It’s vintage Rhys!

Midterms.
Birthday (although it’s not that important. Ooo, I’ll be 20!)
Another comedy show (Jeff Dye).
Sasquatch.

This is my favorite Jeff Dye bit. Hopefully I’ll get to meet him in May when we go to his show.

And the Jeff Dye show is the weekend before, on the 8th and 9th. And all that will be right around midterms. Hmmm… I’ll have to figure out which days I have midterms once I start classes in 6 days, cause the Conchords shows are on weekdays. Monday through wednesday. Ugh. Why do they have to be on weekdays?

I’ve accomplished so much more today than I have in the last three. First of all – saturday, I woke up at 1:30. Sunday, I woke up at noon. Yesterday, I woke up at 11. Today I woke up at 9:30, so I automatically gained an average of 2 hours. Then I helped my mom get her blog squared away. We had to make a whole new page for her. We added: the history page, a few photos on the right sidebar, a new post, and I showed her minimal coding today. And I showed her how to use the scanner. Finally. We’ve had the damn thing for two years and she’s never learned to use it. It was so funny to try to explain a simple image code. I even wrote it down and she said it still looked like Japanese to her, not that she knew how to read Japanese. 私はアビイです。Mom’s funny.

Towards the end of our multiple-hour assignment, I got so sick and tired of AOL and Typepad that I demanded to delete it permanently. I, of all people, should have known to get rid of AOL long, long ago. Even my father didn’t think to get her Firefox, so I took it upon myself and downloaded it for her. Hopefully she doesn’t go apeshit and freak out that she doesn’t have all the lame ass platforms. Ugh, AOL is a whore.

I also cleaned my room – another thing I’d been meaning to do for…well, awhile. I had 6 old Stranger newspapers built up on my desk, many layers of junk on the floor that our Electrolux picked up. My floor looks so much nicer. My room even smells nicer, which is kind of disgusting considering what could have been in my carpet prior to the vacuuming today.

I mustn’t forget to mention the sheer hilarity that was the audio commentary on the Twilight DVD. Even Rob Pattinson saw how ridiculous it was. There was so much self-deprecating humor throughout the entire commentary. Hardwicke sounded like a dumbass trying to make suggestive jokes throughout the whole thing, and KStew sounded so apathetic, exactly like her character. Ugh. But I would listen to RPattz’s sexy English accent for 122 minutes any day. My favorite part was during the “pivotal” scene in the woods when Edward finally admitted to being a vampire.

Rob says that he tells people him kicking up the apple is real. “Well basically, you gotta get the right angle. You gotta get it right on the instep.” Hardwicke says she used to ask if he was practicing his Hacky Sack because she wanted it to be more elaborate — e.g. bounce it off of two knees and an ankle and then catch it. “People would be in hysterics if they saw that,” he says. “It’s like, wow, he’s a superhuman moron…. So he wears lipstick, has a little bouffant, and does little circus acts as well. Oh, he’s so se[xy].”

“Then I’ll ask you the most basic question – what do we eat?” And Rob chimed in, “CHEESEBURGERS!”

I’ll let you see the rest of his funny moments without me completely transcribing them here, because that would be annoying. But even if you think the book is lame, rent the DVD just to watch the movie with the audio commentary, because it’s almost as if RPattz feels the same as you do. It’s amusing.

Um, what else did I accomplish today? Oh, I just went to do some Wii Fit, and surprisingly I’m 3.5 lbs lighter than I was 11 days ago. My goal was to lose a lb a week, but I’ve surpassed that apparently. It’s quite astonishing because I think I’ve only been to the gym twice in the last 11 days because of finals and Ledger and shit.

I think I’ll go. But I’ll leave you with one of the greatest Youtube videos I’ve seen in a long white. Vintage Conchords, from the year 2000.

They were so gangly!

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

