I want to quit right now so badly

5 Dec

I honestly do.

I hate where I work.

I like the dogs.

I like some of the people that I work with.

But today put it over the edge.

We had a staff meeting at 7 AM today, thankfully since it was originally going to be at 6 AM, but 7 AM is still early. I don’t wake up early. I’m not a morning person. And I went to the mandatory meeting against my will because I might as well, since I’d rather not piss my managers off three weeks before I quit. I’m putting my two weeks’ notice in right before Christmas. It’s not worth it. But my assistant manager had the nerve to tell me that I was being disrespectful because I was tired, being fidgity and having a snack during the meeting. It’s early. I’m getting over a cold, I’m tired, and I’m hungry. I wasn’t causing any trouble. I showed up. WTF? It pissed me off, because they obviously wanted us to tell them what was up with the negative attitudes and the “gossip.” We’re adults. We don’t gossip. We talk about the problems in the groom shop and the fact that we have a terrible manager. We don’t spread rumors. We state the facts. So all of us kept our mouths shut about the recent incidents after Roger got fired and told them that we only have problems with the equipment, which is true–we do hate that all our stuff breaks. But we have plenty more problems.

Oh boy, do we.

Oh, and apparently Annette has been soliciting customers for her to do herself at their house, in a sense, stealing customers from Petco, which is illegal. And Darrell then said something that just set something off inside me that made me want to quit right there and then. “These aren’t your customers, these are Petco’s customers.”

Is he fucking serious?

What would he do if we sent some of Roger’s request dogs his way if he were to get a job at another groom shop? Would he fire us? Would he get Roger in trouble? It’s just ridiculous.

And the best part of the meeting was that Mary got employee of the month, because of how great she’s been doing in sales. Yeah? Well, she’s been getting all those great sales from booking herself more dogs than anyone else and squeezing all the money out of the customers that she can. I personally don’t like trying to selling a service that I don’t think has a good value to someone. If I wouldn’t pay the extra 20 bucks for my dog to smell like sugar cookies, then I don’t really care if they want to buy it or not. If they do, fine, if they don’t, I won’t try to sell them on it. I don’t want to get Petco any more money than they deserve, and if they think that in this economic crisis that they will waste an extra 20 bucks to make their dogs smell perfume-y, then they’re barking up the wrong tree. No pun intended.

I’m just pissed, and sick and tired.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

