I’m blogging from a Starbucks in Tacoma

16 Oct

I just felt like it. I finished my Chonga bagel… I wonder what chonga means? I think I’ll look that up. Just a sec.

Wow. Apparently a chonga is a latinolicious lady. Never would have suspected that.

Anyway, I got my peppermint white mocha with me and I’m all set to talk about the debate.

Oh yeah, I’m going to talk about the debate. I have to…it’s the last one, and the last time that John McCain has the chance to show his smarmy faceon television going up against Barack Obama. I was so glad that it was the last one, because Barack totally won.

He did.

Bob Shieffer was by far the best moderator, because he asked the questions that we had so been wanting to hear, apart from the economy, because we’ve beat that issue to the ground. They talked about health care, education and abortion rights, as well as the negative ads that McCain has been slinging Obama’s way about him being a terrorist. Well, they didn’t exactly say that, but it’s put it in the minds of all those crazy bastards at the rallies that keep yelling “Terrorist!” and “Kill him!” when Sarah Palin or Johm McCain mention Barack Obama. Seriously, that’s what people are yelling. It’s ridiculous. I honestly have started to fear for Obama’s life if he gets elected, but then I think about the fact that President Bush hasn’t been assassinated yet, and the fact that Joe Biden is plenty capable to run this country if, god forbid, some crazy bigot decides to kill Obama.

But I was so excited at the fact that Bob brought up those negative attack ads, because in a recent poll done by the New York times, people think that 70% of McCain’s ads are negative, whereas only 30% of Obama’s ads are negative. And then McCain goes on saying that Obama’s spent more money on negative ads, which is totally preposterous. It’s obvious that Obama’s focusing on the issues, and when he does launch a negative ad, it’s about McCain’s policies. McCain’s ads are attacking Obama’s character, feeding the fire of all the lunatics at his rallies shouting those horrific things about Obama.

It makes me sick to think that this is what our country has come to.

I hate it, and I hate that part of the country. I am NEVER EVER EVER EVER EVER MOVING TO THE SOUTH. Ever. Seriously. I never even want to visit there. The only place that I’d ever think about visiting is Austin. Ugh. I love the Northwest, except Alaska. I hate Alaska too.

So this debate got me fired up more than any other one for 3 keys issues–healthcare, education, and abortion.

Those are my issues. The issues that I care about, that can make or break a vote for me, and Obama is in line with me totally on those issues. When I think about it, healthcare is probably the most important to me right now, and will be for the rest of my life, since I have a pre-existing condition that could make or break an insurance policy. So if Obama’s plan doesn’t go through, I’m kinda screwed in the future. And on education, I love Obama’s idea–give all college students $4000 towards their college education each year in exchange for significant community service, like the Peace Corps. I like that. I’d run with that. That’s $4000 that I don’t have to spend, or take a loan out for, to get ready to spend later. It sucks paying for school. Not that I have to, but I see how much it effected my parents last year with St. Martins, which had a ridiculous tuition fee. I’m just glad that I have my tuition paid for this quarter.

And the last issue that separates the candidates completely, on principle, knowledge, and morals–abortion. Obama wants to leave Roe v. Wade alone and keep a complete sex ed course in schools, including contraceptives and abstinence. McCains wants to overturn Roe v. Wade and take away all rights to abortion, as well as the morning after pill. But he still wants your insurance to pay for boner pills? Hmm. It makes me so mad when pro-life people say that I’m “pro-abortion.” What the fuck?!! I love babies! I don’t want people to have abortions. I’m not even sure if I ever could have it on my conscience, but it’s not my right to tell people what they can and cannot do with their body. Ugh, it makes me so mad that pro-lifers think that if you’re not pro-life, it means that you’re pro-death. It’s wrong and ignorant of them to think that and it pisses me off more than your know. This is the same reason why I fear for the governor’s race, because Dino Rossi wants to overturn Roe v. Wade and take away regular contraceptives from health insurance policies, as well as telling the pharmacies to take the morning after pill off the shelves.

I’m scared, and it’s 19 days away. I’m really scared for this country, no matter what happens, because if all goes well for the democrats, there will still be those looney bastards that shout out “terrorist” and kill him” at Crazy Palin’s rallies.

Please do the right thing. Vote.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

