Again, ’tis a wednesday

8 Oct

And I’ll be recording like mad today, not to mention that I have to record Blues Clues. Seriously.

It’s for an assignment, really. For my Children and Television class, we have to analyze a show targeted towards 2-5 year olds. And the next paper we have to write will have to be on a show directed towards 6-11 or 12-18 year olds. I don’t know which show I’ll pick. I’ll have to ponder that.

I have lots of things to ponder over the next couple days. Whether or not I completely quit my job if I got the job on the Ledger, and I need to come up with a idea for an opinion article and write it by next weekend. I’ll actually get to layout a page. The first time I’ve had to use inDesign in over a year. Well, not counting when I went back to Outlook last year to hang out over paste-up weekends. But I’ll actually get to be part of a staff again. It was so refreshing to walk into the meeting yesterday for story sign-ups and be surrounded by people that were dedicated to a newspaper. I missed it. It’s not quite the same as Outlook, because people actually get their articles done before the final weekend where we do design, and the section editors don’t layout their pages. In fact, only Alexis knows how to use InDesign (she’s the EIC) and she needs more help designing the pages. Since the staff if substantially larger, we might possibly be a 16-page issue this time, when last year they only ever had enough people for an 8-pager. It will be quite different, but oh so familiar. I like the writing, but I like it all, and I can still write. That’s the beauty of it; I will have an important job as a page designer, but I can still write articles when I want and when I have time. I am, after all, still doing freelance for the Gateway.

Speaking of that!

Great segway….

Anyway, today, my second article for the Gateway got published in the “mature lifestyles” section. I know, it’s kinda bland, but it was actually much more interesting and more fun to write than my last one. I don’t really like to write articles that don’t directly have to do with people. The last one had to do with conserving water at a car wash. This week’s topic is an assisted living home that provides full end-of-life services in a family environment. So I found it a lot easier to write and to get people to connect with it. Not to mention, I GOT ON THE FRONTPAGE of the special section with the main headline, a cheesy one (it said “Local assisted living homes put ‘family first'”) and it’s called “Family First Adult Living Homes.” I know, it’s lame, but I need to got some practice on headlines, since I’ll be in charge of writing most of them for the pages on design weekend. Unless the writers come up with theirs on their own. Hopefully. I hate writing headlines. No, I hate writing captions. Writing headlines irritates me. It’s not hateworthy.

But I’m excited. As soon as I got home, I ran out to the mailbox and grabbed the paper and drove it over to work for everyone to ogle at my sheer awesomeness.

No, just kidding.

But I did take it to work for everyone to read. I like sharing my excitement with my co-workers, because they always seem genuinely happy for me. It’s nice to know.

But I think I’m going to go.

I’ll mention one last thing.

The debate was BOOORING last night, but Barack totally won. And you have to watch this. It really has nothing to do with the debate, but it has to do with the election. Sarah Palin in particular.

<

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

