Archive | 7:54 am

It’s been 7 years

11 Sep

7 years ago today that the terrorists bombed the WTC and the Pentagon. And how far have we gotten?

Nowhere.

I’m just sad right now, after such a good day. After a day of advancement in my own life. Getting a freelance gig for a newspaper, seeing my ex for the first time since we broke up, and now I think about where we are in the country–it’s sad.

And I can’t take 4 more years of this sadness. But I don’t think that it would stay sadness for long, I think if this country doesn’t make the right decision in less than 2 months, I will be angry. I will be furious with the people that fucked our country over for another 4 years. I saw in interview with Matt Damon today from the AP wire, and he said that having Sarah Palin this close to the presidency is like a “bad Disney movie.” If you look at the facts, with McCain’s health the way it is, Sarah Palin has a one in 3 chance of being president within the next 4 years if they win in November.

This is what saddens me.

And when you think about it, it makes perfect sense as to why 50% of this Goddamn country is so enamored by her. I’ll just point it out now, the biggest fucking elephant in the room–she looks like a naughty librarian. She’s attractive, and she’s the woman that every man fantasizes about one time or another. If she looked like Janet Reno, none of this would have happened. That stupid college student would never have started the “Sarah Palin for VP” blog and gotten McCain’s attention. Shit, he would have probably picked Giuliani, Mr. 9/11 himself. But it’s because of Sarah’s looks that she is getting put on this high pedestal. People keep saying that she has “small town values” and that’s what the McCain campaign is running on. What condones a “small town.” Is Gig Harbor a small town? Or is Erskine, Minn., a town of 435 people, a small town?

And they keep saying that McCain is a real American hero, and a hardworking man. First of all, he’s gotten to where he is today in part because of his wife’s beer empire. And secondly, what makes someone who’s hardworking ready to be president? Steelworkers all work hard. Coal miners work hard. Fuck, the people in the groom shop work hard. But just because someone is willing to risk their life for their country and is willing to work hard doesn’t mean that they are qualified to be president. You have to be smart. Intellligence and common sense are the most important I think. McCain graduated 384th out of 388 in his naval academy, I think. I know he was 4 from the bottom.

And people say that they can relate to McCain and Palin. McCain reminds me of my grandfather–a war veteran, stubborn as hell, ignorant in the ways of modern society, and old and grumpy. Shit, the only things that I have in common with Sarah Palin is that we both have vaginas, we both have vision deficiencies, and we both are NOT QUALIFIED TO BE IN THE FUCKING WHITEHOUSE. Like she said, the only difference between a pitbull and a hockey mom is lipstick. You don’t see any lipstick-wearing pitbulls in the whitehouse do ya?

All I’m asking is that you young people, the ones who might possibly read this–GO AND FUCKING VOTE! You have two more weeks to register until it’s too late. Please, take the time to control our future. And please see past the smarmy, snarky, arrogant, disrespectful, hateful, rotten, lowlife, ignorant, smartass douchebags in the republican party.

Think about it–Obama has never used a smear ad. How many McCain ads have you seen knocking Obama on something completely unfounded.

You know better than that.

At least I hope so.

❤ Abby

