Extraordinarily good mood!

10 Sep

And why, you may ask?

I just got a job writing freelance for the Gateway, my hometown newspaper. Okay, so it isn’t big time stuff, but the reason why I’m so excited is that I will get paid for writing. I will seriously get paid for what I love to do.

They won’t be big stories…they’ll be small pieces in the special sections. But still. I’ll get paid. I’ll get $40 a story and $20 a photo if they use it. Hello?!!! I’ve only gotten paid for babysitting and dog grooming in my lifetime. This is pretty damn big.

And I’m celebrating!

I actually already did some. I went to work today and asked everyone what they wanted from Albertsons, and I went and bought it for them, on me. I’m just that nice. ‘Twas a funny situation. When I was leaving, Roger was just about to give me some cash, and I was like “Nope, it’s on me.”

“I’m gonna punch you in the face right now.” He chuckled.

When I got back, everyone asked me why I was in such a good mood.

“I have never seen someone in this good of a mood before. You come to work on your off day and buy us all drinks.” Roger said.

“I had to tell someone. My best friend is in Paris and my other best friend is stuck on a mountain.” I replied.

I filled everyone in about why I was in such a good mood, and Annette told me “Congratulations” and she shook my hand.

“A handshake, Annette?” And we all laughed.

Lori said that she will have to buy the Gateway from now on. I told her “No worries, I’ll probably bring it in every week anyway.”

So yeah, I’m pretty excited. So excited that I went and spent my own money on my co-workers. I really can’t quit now. I can’t quit anything. I’ve never quit anything big in my life. I didn’t even quit Girl Scouts until I had to, until I got too old to be a Girl Scout. So I can’t quit my job yet.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

