Bumbershoot ha’nins

3 Sep

If you can see the picture in my header above ^^^^^^^ you can see Death Cab for Cutie. And let me just tell you, THEY WERE AWESOME! My newest Youtube clip is on the side of the page >>>>>>>> so you can see “Tiny Vessels.”

I didn’t get this clip because I’m dumb, but this one pretty much epitomizes the whole show–glorious.

I expected to see more bands, including Flobots, Adele, and possibly the Offspring, but low and behold, my fellow festival-goers who I shared a car with, didn’t really want to. All they wanted to see was Death Cab. Not that I’m saying anything bad about Death Cab, but I want more than my money’s worth. And all I got was my money’s worth.

But what really ticked me off the most about going on monday was that my sister and I had planned on seeing Jeff Dye, a comedian from Seattle, who was second place on Last Comic Standing, but because of that damn show, he had to go on the Last Comic Standing Tour. So bye bye Bumbershoot. See ya lata!

So that was one disappointment, but not many followed, except the fact that we couldn’t decide what to do, but that wasn’t the festival’s fault. That one was my sister’s friend Lindsay’s fault. There is no fault to Bumbershoot for any of the disappointment that I experienced. The methed out Paramore fans were enough to counteract that issue. Seriously, when we went to go find Lindsey’s friends at Paramore, we were sitting by these two chicks bouncing and twitching to every single Paramore song. They were almost acting out the songs too. And why did I call them methed out, you may ask? They each weighed about 100 lbs and were greasy as hell with face craters the size of M&Ms. That probably sounded so horrible, but it’s funny right?

That was humorous at least. The Paramore show was quite good, but I couldn’t help but see the same person all around me. I never realized how not different the indie culture is from eachother. It wasn’t all that different than being in high school, where everyone wears Hollister tops with Seven jeans. It could have just been that I was at the Paramore show, that all I saw was skinny jeans, American Apparel hoodies, color-chunked ratted hair and scarves GALORE. Seriously? It was weird.

Not saying that everyone looked the same, but at the Paramore show, a lot of people looked the same.

The indie market was my favorite. Because I love to shop. They had everyone from sequined pasties to bracelets made of forks to duct tape wallets. I did purchase one of those fork bracelets too. I needed a new one. We did pass by a few knife jugglers who were at Bumbershoot last year as well, a statue man that gave you a hug if you gave him a dollar, and the guy who was the Mole. Seriously. We were walking through the rock poster exhibition and I saw Chris, the big guy from TV’s “The Mole.”

And we got to make buttons! For free! In this Dell dome thing, they had a table of paper scraps and button makers, so we got to make our own custom buttons. I want a button maker now.

What else happened? We ran into about 20 people that we knew, and that was before Death Cab. There, we saw 5 more people that we knew. That’s the cool part about Bumbershoot–it brings in all types of people. It brings in those Am App wearing hipsters, and the mildly indie-aware chicks who love Death Cab and drag their boyfriends, and the folkie Devendra Banhart types, and the punks who came to see The Offspring, and the scene kids who decided to–for some reason–go see Aiden instead of Death Cab. And me. I wouldn’t fit into any of those categories. I just like music and the arts, which is what the festival is for. I like people and culture and Seattle.

Now I’ll get to the highlight, and the closer of Bumbershoot–Death Cab for Cutie. There are only a few bands that I would be willing to stand outside in a crowd of people whom I don’t know for 2 hours prior to the show. We Are Scientists, Flight of the Conchords, Radiohead, Sigur Ros…AND Death Cab for Cutie. I got trampled by crowd surfers for Christ’s sake.

The band opened up with Bixby Canyon Bridge, and at that moment when they started to perform, I realized that Ben Gibbard has spectacular hair. As does Chris Walla. And I stood there, listening to the songs that I have so loved for so long, and I noticed that a lot of the people around me didn’t know half of the songs that they played. The second song was Expo ’86 from Transatlanticism, but people weren’t swaying and singing along with it. It kind of made me mad, that they didn’t know that song, as well as Why You’d Want to Live Here off of The Photo Album. Sadly enough, the only song that I think EVERYONE sang along to was The Sound of Settling, their most famous song, the one that was featured in the O.C. like a bazillion years ago. I felt proud of myself because I knew all the words to all the songs. Take that, new fans.

I’m an old fan. I got all the EPs. Illegally, yes, but I have them.

The greatest part of the whole show was the encore, when Chris, Ben, Jason and Nick came back out after about 5 minutes where “one more song” was chanted from the crowd. They played two more songs, two of my favorites, and the two saddest ones from Transatlanticism, Tiny Vessels and the title track. Then, it came to me, how both odd and fitting that those two songsare juxtaposed right next to each other on the record. One talks about some girl who is beautiful and great on the outside, but “didn’t mean a thing to me.” And transatlanticism is about someone who is so close, yet so literally far away. It’s just about the saddest song that I can think of. Every time I hear it, I tear up. Seriously. And inevitably, I did at the live show. And it didn’t really help that towards the end, fireworks shot down from the stage as they played… which you can see in my header ^^^^^^. They ended it so well, and so epicly.

Seriously, Death Cab was so good, they were tear-inducing.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

