Day of Silence

25 Apr

Day #11:

So, this is a very good outlet for me, because I’ve decided not to speak today, in protest of those people who harass and commit hate crimes towards gay, lesbian, bisexual and transsexual people for the Day of Silence. It’s been difficult today, since I’ve been wanting to talk to someone, but I know that what I’m doing is good, because being at a Catholic University, this will be something that not many people will do. Right now, I only know of myself and Ada not speaking. And that’s it.

I’ve actually got some positive feedback from people. Like “Good for you, I could never not speak for a day, I talk too much.” I know that it’s negative in a way, but hopeful. Then I got some people who said, “I heard about that on the radio, and I laughed.” It made me angry and sad at the same time. But I’m not giving up.

This is the best cause that I can think of lately, and I’ve been participating for 3 years actively. I love it when people stand up for something that they believe in. It makes me feel like I’m not the only one who cares, no matter what the cause is–whether it’s global climate change, the war in Iraq, first amendment rights, women’s rights or gay rights. It doesn’t always bother me when people who I completely disagree with are protesting, because that means that they care. They may be ignorant in some of their beliefs, but at least they’re taking the initiative to stand up for something. What drives me crazy are the people who are apathetic about things and then complain about what’s going on–those people who have the right to vote, but don’t take the responsibility to vote.

I’m so waiting for when I get to vote in the general election. McCain is going down. He has to.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

