Wednesdays…eh

9 Apr

Day #28:
I’m totally going to Bumbershoot this year…Beck is one of the headliners, and Neko Case. So yeah.
I’m exhausted for some ridiculous reason.
I’m finished my resume, now all I need to do it finish my 4 applications…hopefully I get the job at Half Price Books.
Uh….I had a book seminar on “Homage to Catalonia” today. Gah.
This is probably the blandest thing you’ve ever read, so I should think of something else to comment on, besides my bleak wednesday.

Well, I started reading that “Twilight” book that’s got everyone’s knickers in a twist, and I’m sorry to say, it’s nothing really all that special. I’m only about 50 pages in, but it hasn’t grabbed me yet, which is a telltale sign that it won’t. I don’t know why, I’m just not impressed by the writing style and none of the characters seem original at all. So far, at least. I mean, I’ll finish the damn thing to give it a fair chance, but I’m telling you now, I won’t be finishing it in two days.

Maybe I am a snob. I’m a music snob, yes, I’ll admit to that. But I’ve never really thought of myself as a book snob. I guess I’ve just been reading AP books for so long, I’ve not really gotten to read “young adult fiction” in a long time, at least not ones without originality and lots of humor (The Jessica Darling Series, Megan McCafferty, now those books are engaging). But to be honest, it doesn’t bother me all that much that I’m a book snob, because that will make me a better critic. Yes. I’m growing. I’m not a juvenile!

I think it will make a good movie though, which I think is the reason why I don’t like it so far as a book. It sounds a lot like a screenplay, and a pretty ordinary one at that. Nothing near reading the screenplay of “Juno” or “Little Miss Sunshine” (that latter of which I own).

I guess that makes this entry a little bit more worthwhile. I hope so, at least.


I like vampires, I really do!

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

