Wednesdays are boring

20 Mar

Really, they are. I don’t like them.

But tuesday was more entertaining.

Yesterday was a pretty big day for the presidential campaign–if you don’t know what I’m talking about, you need to pay more attention.

So, you don’t really have to watch the whole thing, but of you didn’t see it, you should watch the whole thing.

Obama’s right. America still is racist. No matter what people say, that people get equal opportunities, that the ’60s are behind us, it’s not over. That generation that lived through those times are still a big voting population in this country. Our grandparents are the ones holding us back from change.

It’s actually really perfect what Tracy Morgan said last weekend on SNL. He said that “America is a racist country. The end…Bitch may be the new black, but black is the new president, bitch.” He was referring in that last part to what Tina Fey said a few weeks ago on the show about Hillary Clinton.

Obama’s speech yesterday just further pushed me into his direction, not that I was surely for him before, but now there’s no question. Yes more of his campaign is rhetoric, yes he doesn’t have a lot of experience, and yes he has a pastor that says crazy things. But when you think about it, the “crazy pastor” makes a point. America’s pretty fucked up and he feels it the most. He’s one of those people who lived through the civil rights movement and he’s gotten to see all the change, or lack of change, that’s happened since then. John Stewart portrayed it perfectly last night, when he joked about a black man getting angry, he took his remote locker and locked the doors to his car. I’ll admit it. I do that sometimes. I do it when I’m in a parking lot or on a side street and I see two guys dressed in baggy clothes and who resemble the “gangsta” stereotype. And honestly, 95% of the time, those are black guys. I think that Barack Obama saying basically the same thing that his pastor said but in a different way makes Americans realize that we need to change.

And Obama can be that change that we all need.

I’m so fired up now. There’s been so much political shit in the last 2 weeks, it’s insane. First it was Sally Kern with his homophobic diatribe, then Elliot Spitzer and his expensive whores, and then it’s Obama’s “crazy” pastor, then the first blind and black governor or New York admits to having an affair 7 years ago. Well, that last one isn’t really such a big deal, but those have been the things pervading the news channels lately. It’s really quite improbable if you don’t know about any of these issues.

Completely changing the subject.

I deleted all the movies on my computer yesterday, accidentally. I dragged the wrong file to the trash and I automatically emptied the trash. It sucks. I lost about 10 GB of movies. It really sucks. However, most of those were downloaded off Torrents, but still. It took a long time.

Completely changing the subject again.

I love Weezer. I forgot how good they were. I downloaded a bunch of their older stuff yesterday and I’ve been listening to it all day. We Are Scientists remind me a lot of Weezer. I don’t know why I didn’t realize this before. You should go listen to “El Scorcho” on the Pinkerton album. “God damn you half Japaneeeese girls!” It’s so weird, but so funny.

I think I’m done. I have to go finish a few job applications for Half Price Books, Torrid and the new Galaxy movie theater in town. I need a job this summer. If anyone knows of any good ones, PLEASE LET ME KNOW.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

