I love you too, but I’m going to mace you in the face!

18 Mar

You know what I am totally obsessed with now? Wes Anderson films. I just watch “The Darjeeling Limited,” and holy crap it was cool. If you haven’t seen it, I’ll explain.

Owen Wilson, Jason Schwartzman and Adrian Brody are three brothers who go on a spiritual journey to become closer and find their mother, Anjelica Huston, who went MIA after their father’s death to become a nun in the Himalayas. Yeah, sounds kinda weird, but when you think about what other movies that Anderson has made–Royal Tenenbaums, The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou, and Rushmore–things make much more sense. I’m actually not had the pleasure of seeing Rushmore, but I feel like I NEED TO now.

Everything’s just so offbeat about the movie. I guess that it could have all the quirks of a Sophia Coppola film, but without being pretentious like a Sophia Coppola film. I know movies. I’ve watched them all my life. I can tell. And honestly, going off topic slightly, I loved Juno, but that movie was totally filled with pretentious BS. I, myself, being somewhat indie, I guess, could tell that every choice of music and reference was Diablo Cody shouting out to the world, “check me out, I’m so indie. Suck it, Zach Braff. I listen to bands that don’t even exist yet!” Okay, maybe I exaggerated a bit, but you get my point.

I’m confused as to why I deviated from my original point, but I’ll go back. The Darjeeling Limited is absolutely my current favorite movie, but that changes a lot for me, as I said before, I watch a lot of movies. And seriously, it’d would be a good date movie for offbeat movie buffs. It’s funny, thoughtful, and sad at times. Not a lot of action, except when Jason Schwartzman maces his brothers in the face, but that just goes to show you how interesting of a movie that it is. And in mace, I mean the spray, not the huge spiked ball weapon. That would just be incredibly painful, and random.

So go watch it. And watch it WITH part one, Hotel Chevalier. It makes it a lot cooler once you see where it comes from.

And the locations are all so pretty. I would love to go to India.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

