I loathe Valentine’s day

15 Feb

I’ll start this one off with the song that exemplifies my feelings to the t. It’s amazing.

All I know is that you’re so nice,
You’re the nicest thing I’ve seen.
I wish that we could give it a go,
See if we could be something.

I wish I was your favourite girl,
I wish you thought I was the reason you are in the world.
I wish I was your favourite smile,
I wish the way that I dressed was your favourite kind of style.

I wish you couldn’t figure me out,
But you always wanna know what I was about.
I wish you’d hold my hand when I was upset,
I wish you’d never forget the look on my face when we first met.

I wish you had a favourite beauty spot that you loved secretly,
‘Cos it was on a hidden bit that nobody else could see.
Basically, I wish that you loved me,
I wish that you needed me,
I wish that you knew when I said two sugars, actually I meant three.

I wish that without me your heart would break,
I wish that without me you’d be spending the rest of your nights awake.
I wish that without me you couldn’t eat,
I wish I was the last thing on your mind before you went to sleep.

All i know is that you’re the nicest thing I’ve ever seen
I wish that we could see if we could be something

It’s ‘The Nicest thing’ by Kate Nash, a 20-year-old English singer with the voice similar to Lily Allen, almost as much sass, but more emotion. I love her music. You should listen to it.

But yeah. I hate Valentine’s day. I know that it should be all about the love and romance, but seriously? It’s basically all about overpriced greeting cards and the probability of getting the crappy chocolate with coconut in it. In elementary school, you get obligated to make a card for everyone. We all decorated the little shoeboxes with construction paper and cut a hole in the lid. All the kids would tape a candy to their Barbie or Transformers valentines, the kind that you write to: and from: and fold in half to latch with a heart sticker. I miss those days. Now, in real like, you don’t get a box of 20+ valentines from all your classmates, maybe even one from your crush, so you keep it in a special box to look at later. No, you’re lucky if you get one. And not one from your parents. Those count even less than the foldy ones from 2nd grade.

In other words, Valentine’s day makes those of us who don’t have significant others feel, well…INSIGNIFICANT!

I’ve always not liked it. But now I hate it. I’m 3 months away from 19 years old and I still have no reason to like it. It’s kinda sad.

No. Really sad. At least for me. I’ve resorted to giving anonymous valentines to fulfill my fancy for some sort of celebration. And today was just crap. Like crap piled on top of crap, on top of more crap, with crap on the side. Okay, that’s a pretty nasty mental picture, but I’m speaking figuratively, here. I really don’t want to go into detail about the issues that my friends have right now. None of my other friends have every had issues like that before, but that could have been that it was high school, and MUCH LESS COMPLICATED THAT ANYTHING GOING ON HERE! Uh. I’m so frustrated right now.

But with that frustration comes journaling, lots of journaling. I’m already almost halfway through my journal that I started the first day of this year. It could be that it’s much smaller than the older one that took me 3 and a half years to finish. Hey, I didn’t write in it regularly, so get off my back. But I’m pretty proud of myself, I might even need to buy a new one after some time. I have 3 or 4 more that I have to fill after this one to finish the journals that I currently own. I’ll get them done. I know it.

Ooo, that means that I already have a Christmas gift for next year–a really sweet journal. I like having a few in surplus to keep me from getting anxious. But I should go to bed now. I need to get up at 7 tomorrow, and I have to take a shower, because I worked out like a racehorse tonight. I was flying on the elliptical.

So yeah, goodnight.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

