Yes, we can

8 Feb

I think that statement is the most inspiring thing I’ve heard in awhile.

Yes-implies that we are responding to something other than ourselves. We are answering a question.

We-shows unity. Much more than “I”

Can-means hope. Like the little engine that could, but even more than “I THINK I can.”

Yes, we can.

At least I hope we can.

I just saw the music video that Will.i.am put together with a plethora of other actors, singers, random celebrities, dubbing a song over Barack Obama’s “Yes, we can” speech. To be honest, his pathos reminds me of Martin Luther King. He has a voice that carries over crowds and echoes with power. I wish I could go listen to him speak today, but it’s at 11 am at the Key Arena, in Seattle. If I wanted to make it there, I’d have to book it there at like, 85 mph the whole way. But Libby gets to get see Hillary Clinton at UPS this morning. I’m so jealous of her.

I’d rather go see Barack though. He’s much more handsome, and I know that sound weird, but it actually makes a difference. Charisma makes a difference. Sure, experience works for Hillary, but experience doesn’t always necessarily mean good judgement. Fuck, Karl Rove and Dick Cheney have plenty of experience. See where that got them?

Anyway, here’s the video. It’s amazing.

Go out and vote, damnit.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

