I was novelling…

24 Jan

But I feel like I can’t leave these whole last few days out.

Sunday sucked…y’all know that.

Monday sucked for half the day…ask me later about as to why.

Yesterday sucked on other terms.

People were fighting with their boyfriends, Grandparents died, and Heath Ledger died.

I feel like talking about Heath Ledger though, because it isn’t so personal. But it’s still sad.

He was 28, not 27 like other talented people’s whose careers were cut short (Jim Morrison, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Kurt Cobain). As soon as I heard, I instantly thought “Oh god, it’s the 27-year curse.” But he missed the mark by about 9 months. Heath was really talented, and I was really excited to see the new Batman movie on July, but I think that if I do, I might just cry.

It made me think about my life. How things can get cut so short, and how you aren’t able to do everything that you want. How you miss everything that you would have gotten to see if you had grown old. It made me want to embrace my life more as a now than as a future, because one day, I may not have a future. Heath had a future on monday. Yesterday, he was history.

Here’s a quote that he said, and was reported in the New York Times today about him having a child:

“You’re forced into, kind of, respecting yourself more,” he said. “You learn more about yourself through your child, I guess. I think you also look at death differently. It’s like a Catch-22: I feel good about dying now because I feel like I’m alive in her, you know, but at the same hand, you don’t want to die because you want to be around for the rest of her life.”

I don’t think that 10 Things I Hate About You will ever be the same, Brokeback Mountain. or A Knight’s Tale, or Casanova, or the Patriot. But the Patriot seems too unconventionally foreshadowing right now. And please tell me that you aren’t making Brokeback jokes, I’ve have enough of that shit today.

I’ll admit that I read Perezhilton.com. It’s addicting how much he actually knows about all this shit. Like, does he just take his computer with him everywhere and watch people? It doesn’t make sense sometimes, but I found something quite interesting, and also quite disturbing earlier today. Perez reported that members of Westboro Baptist Church in Kansas will protest Heath’s funeral, because he was a “pervert” and “should burn in hell” for his role in Brokeback Mountain.

Seriously people?

He’s dead.

Their website is called Godhatesf**s.com. I can’t even write it without being disgusted. There’s been enough with that word already, what with all the Isaiah Washington/TR Knight shit last year. But anyway, back to my point. These ignorant gay-bashing hatemongers are actually planning on going to his funeral to picket because he played a gay man in a movie. I wish I could say that this wasn’t true, but it is. The horrible bastards even went as far as to use Bible verses to support their cause. And they honestly said this on their flier advertising their protest–“God hates the sordid, tacky bucket of slime seasoned with vomit known as ‘Brokeback Mountain.'” Really? Does he? I’m not one for reading the Bible, but from what I know, God doesn’t hate anyone, and if these people’s God hates gays, then he sure as hell isn’t my God.

I know that it’s bad to hate, but how can any sane person honestly not hate people like this with all the fire in their being?

I know that I do.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

