But Mons!

12 Jan

I ❤ Strangers with Candy. It’s my new quotable movie.

I think that I’ve made my mind up about school. I think that my day at UW really helped me decide.

I’ll explain.

It got to Heidi’s apartment at like, 8:30 on wednesday. Dad had to go around the block a couple times to get his big fat truck in the right place. Heidi had to actually buzz me up twice, because when she pushed the button to open the door, the door made a noise like it was being charged with electricity. It buzzed. And I didn’t want to get electrocuted, so I tried to open it after the buzzing stopped. That didn’t work, so I had to click the room number again. Heidi was right in saying that her apartment was ghetto, but just a little ghetto. When I walked in, Heidi, Tara, Mary Rose and Camilla were watching the Janice Dickinson Modeling academy. I felt a little awkward at first, but after awhile, I warmed up to everyone. Heidi’s roommates, Ryan and Tara, are pretty cool. They had dirty magnetic poetry on the fridge, and Mary Rose messed around with the letters to make a pretty dirty one, but you could put any letters together and they’d sound dirty, even if they didn’t make sense. The she sent a picture to Patrick.

Like I mentioned before, we watching Strangers with Candy, or at least parts of it, after they got back from the IMA, which is the humungous workout building. Honestly, I wasn’t sure what the hell they were talking about when they said, “We’re going to the IMA,” before they actually changed into workout clothes.

When everyone left, Heidi showed me everything on the UW website, and told me about what classes are like, which dorms I should avoid, and about competitive majors. The classes actually aren’t all held in huge auditoriums; how I’d gotten that impression, I don’t know. It’s about half and half, the smaller ones about the same size as the larger classes at my school.

That was reassuring.

Heidi told me all about her insane roommate from last year, and how she was a pathological liar. And she cut her finger on a shard of glass embedded into the carpet. They don’t have a vacuum.

And I thought having one vacuum on the floor was bad. They just didn’t have one.

Thankfully I wore thick socks.

I slept on the incredibly cushy couch–I almost felt like I was sinking when I laid down to sleep. I was half awake when Ryan left for his class at, because he had an early class at 8:30. But I didn’t even realize that his boyfriend had come in at about 2:30. I woke up, and the clock said 8:45. I sat up for awhile, turned on the tv, and checked my email. At about 9:30, I decided to get up and start getting ready. But once 10:15 came, I thought, “they’re not up yet, don’t we have to leave at 11 for the 11:30 class? How much time do they need?” I disregarded the clock for a little bit, then Tara woke up and made her coffee. I didn’t mention the time, wondering what was actually going on. Heidi got up at about 10:45, or that’s what the clock said.

“I’m awake!”

“This clock isn’t right is it?”

“Oh no, it’s an hour ahead.”

“Oh.”

Yeah, I was an hour ahead of everyone else. I felt like an idiot. After Heidi and Tara made their coffee and I made myself scrambled eggs, a guy wandered from the back room. It was Allee, Ryan’s boyfriend.

We finally left when the clock said noon. I’m such an idiot. It took us about 15 minutes to actually get to campus, and then 5 more minutes to get to Heidi’s linguistics class. Linguistics, I know. It was all about words and speech. Pretty cool huh? And the teacher totally looked like the main girl from the Babysitter’s Club. This class was actually in a dorm building, I think she said that it was Haggett. Not sure, but it was tall. Linguistics was 50 minutes, along with English, which I think was called Histories of the Novel. By the end of Linguistics, I was really hungry.

The Histories of the Novel section was taught by a grad student, same as Linguistics, and it was located in a building called Sieg. I think that will be the only issue I’ll have at the beginning of next year, not getting lost with all the buildings. I’ll desperately need a map. I’m used to having all my classes in one building, on one of two floors. This will be interesting.

English ended at 1:20, and my stomach was at the stage where it started to eat itself.

And we still had Comm lecture.

This was the 400+ person auditorium class, and the teacher actually noticed when people weren’t paying attention. She was pretty cool, Mary Rose didn’t think so, but Heidi liked her too. I wasn’t so sure how exactly what she was talking about pertained to Communications, but it was only the second day, so I’m guessing that it makes more sense later.

I couldn’t keep my stomach from rumbling all through lecture.

Seriously, it sounded like something was living in me, trying to get out. I was SO hungry.

Mary Rose came back with us to Heidi’s apartment, and as we walked back to the “Ghetto” apartment, I didn’t speak much, mostly just observing everything around me. I realized that I needed something like this to grow up. I’ve been in the same place for my whole life, and Lacey’s not opening my eyes to new things. Olympia’s a little better, but I’m not in Olympia. St. Martin’s is just like high school, but it’s more expensive, and you live there. I belong in Seattle. That’s where I need to be to experience new things. I need to be at a big school to be able to be on my own. I don’t feel like an adult at St. Martins, and that’s what I need to feel.

We made bagel bites and frozen chimichangas back at the apartment. And I’d never been so happy to see a frozen tray of Costco goodness.

We didn’t really do much the rest of the day, except Mary Rose and Heidi got an email about the sex offenders near campus, in the wake of that girl getting beat up by Greek row. Apparently, two of the guys are Mary Rose’s neighbors, and she sees them regularly.

Very comforting.

That’s what my mom worries about. She’s afraid of what I need. I need to experience the real world. UW is located in the real world. The city world. And the city world is where I’m going to need to work to actually get a good job.

We drove Mary Rose back to ZTA on Greek row. She gave me a tour of on the way there. OMG. All of the houses were mansions. Seriously. Gigantic, beautiful houses. That would be one reason to join a sorority, to get out of the dorms. I’m so glad that Mary Rose set me straight about her sorority, because everything that I’d gotten the impression of from other sources and my school was bad. I’d over-generalized, and I was wrong. It’s only our school with a shitty Greek system.

Anyway, after everyone else got home, I didn’t really talk a lot, at all. Everyone was studying, and I didn’t want to distract them. I’d invaded their apartment for long enough. Mom finally arrived at like, 6:30, much later than I’d planned, but it was okay. I just didn’t want to miss Grey’s Anatomy at 9. Heidi walked me downstairs, wait, accompanied me in the elevator down, and I left. I was glad to go home.

But I was even more glad that I got to go experience real college.

And I never want to end up like Jerri Blank.

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

