I just watched “Once”

22 Dec

I couldn’t have watched a more perfect movie.

I’d listened to the soundtrack before actually seeing the movie, and now that I’ve seen the movie, I appreciate the music even more. I honestly just finished it, like 10 minutes ago, and my eyes are puffy. The ending is so sad, but it’s the best way to finish it. For heaven’s sakes, it’s called “Once.”

For anyone wondering what Once means, it means how many times in your life you meet that right person. I know, about as tear-jerker of a topic for me as a movie can get.

I loved how neither of them actually had names. The whole point is that it’s such a random encounter that can turn into “the one.” Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova were the main characters. When I first saw the dvd promos, I thought that they were almost the same age, but no. Marketa is a 19-year-old Czech pianist, and Glen is the 37-year-old frontman for the Irish rock band “The Frames.” So when I think about their ages, it’s a little weird, but she looks older than 19, and I think that the point may be that true love is where you least expect it, I guess.

I don’t know. It just made me sad. Good sad, not bad sad, but still…sad.

I’m not going to write a long, convoluted review of this one, because it’s so simple of a film, that it doesn’t really take that much explanation. It’s made in Ireland, didn’t a huge budget, has an amazing soundtrack (I suggest after watching it, which you WILL DO, go listen to the soundtrack over and over again), and is just…perfect. The story is so easy, but yet so difficult to pull off. Guy meets girl, yadda yadda yadda. “Once” definitely pulls it off.

Seriously, rent it. Watch it. Listen to the soundtrack. Write your own song, while you’re at it. Tell other friends to watch it. Soon.


❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

