The Second Music-Filled Adolescent Education Place

18 Aug

I felt like being witty. Shut up.

Okay, so I knew that this day would inevitably come, and to be honest with you, I was kind of looking forward to it. I Tivo’d High School Musical 2, and sat down and watched the entire thing when I got home from the Mariners game at oh…11:30. So I watched it. And I enjoyed it. And anyone who doesn’t, seriously has a heart of stone. I mean, come on. How could you not feel all warm and fuzzy inside afterwards? I, for one, don’t feel like eating anything sugary for days. I’ve had enough sweet in 2 hours than I have in a long while.

Okay, the music. I downloaded the soundtrack illegally a few days ago, and much to my surprise, I burnt it to a CD and have been listening to it in my car for the last three days. My favorites are “Bet on it,” Troy’s empowerment anthem, and “I Don’t Dance,” Ryan and Chad’s baseball vs. dancing arguement. They’re the best to listen to on soundtrack, and “I don’t dance” was one of the best scenes in the movie. Well choreographed, good singing, and a completely new setting for the whole cast. I liked that. “Bet on it” on the other hand…wait a second.

I have to stop laughing. It makes a great soundtrack song, and I can stand listening to it all day, but watching Troy skip and twirl and try to discover himself was a little embarrassing, even for me. It got a little bit “Staying Alive” for me (and those movie buffs out there know that Staying Alive was the horrible sequel to Saturday Night Fever). I am thankful though that the producers gave Zac Efron a chance to sing. I much prefer his voice to the one they used in the last movie. He can sing, and now we all know that. His acting surprised me as well. I thought it would have just been the same old same old as the last movie, but he was much more diverse in this sequel. He was funny, sweet, and sad. And adorable. But that doesn’t really matter.

But Vanessa…oh I hate Vanessa. Not just because she’s dating Zac, but unlike Zac, she was the same old, same old. And they did mess with her voice at some points. There’s just something about their chemistry that doesn’t click with me, and Gabriella is just too goody two shoes for me. But that’s Disney for you. I’m quite glad that she actually pursued a singing career, because I would not like to see her in alot more movies. And I’m glad that Zac didn’t pursue a singing career, not because he’s a bad singer, but because he’s a better actor and him singing would ruin his whole image. He doesn’t want to sing because he knows that the producers would just be using him to sell records. He wouldn’t be able to make music, he’d be selling it. And that’s quite cool.

So, I’ll have to be honest, the movie was really over-the-top, super sugary, and quite predictable, but what does it matter anyway? Isn’t the point of watching movies to enjoy ourselves? Why would we sit down and watch a movie at 11:30 at night, to make ourselves ponder life’s purpose? No, we watch movies to be entertained; to be happy, and even as cheesy and unrealistic as High School Musical 2 may be, to make ourselves believe that things will always work out in the end, one for all, and all for one. And you can bet on that.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

❤ Abby

Leave a Reply

