This makes me angry.

14 Oct

SPLC article on the JagWire prior review problems

You have to read that before you read what I have to say.

This is something that I feared in high school, but I never thought that this would happen to the JagWire.

One of the best student newspapers in the state of Washington has just fallen under the dark cloud of prior review, and it’s horrible. It’s horrible not because of what they printed, but because of the retaliation that came after it.

In February of last year, Emerald Ridge high school’s newspaper, the JagWire printed a special section on oral sex, with articles ranging from a scientific health study of the hormones to a point counterpoint of the morality of it all. A few students were quoted saying that they’ve engaged in oral sex, and the JagWire said that they were very careful with checking and rechecking that it was okay to print what the students said. But the students, or the students fucking parents, decided to file suit against the school district because of it.

I, for one, believe the JagWire staff in this instance, and I will in all further instances. What pisses me off the most is that the school district has been so open in the past that all these allegations made them put prior review. They were forced to do this, and for the wrong reasons.

The students told the newspaper staff these things about their private life and they knew they were be interviewed for an article, any good journalist lets someone know when they’re being interviewed. But because they didn’t tell their parents about their sex lives, the parents went apeshit when they saw it.

I say–don’t make the student journalists suffer consequences when you should be talking to your kids about what they’re doing. That’s bad parenting, and that’s injustice right there.

I hate this, because if the damn House would have passed House Bill 1307 two years ago like it was supposed to, the JagWire wouldn’t be having these problems. The fucking parents would have to deal with the reality that their teenagers are engaging in fellatio and/or cunnalingus.

This has got me so fired up that I think I should write about this for an opinions article for my school paper. I’m scared for my friends and peers up in Puyallup and in the neighboring districts, because once one district gets on the bandwagon, there are always more to come.

My sister even had the nerve to argue with me about this, saying that the JagWire staff “was stupid to even think about printing something about oral sex.” She said that if she “saw that the Outlook printed something like that, [she'd] be pissed and disappointed.” Seriously? Does she honestly think she knows what she’s talking about? She doesn’t know what she’s talking about and I do. I’ve been involved in this community for 4 years, and I know what I’m talking about.

This just makes me so mad, because we were so close to not letting this happen with HB 1307.

JagWire staff, also, Viking Vanguard, I’m with your guys. I feel like I need to do something.

<3 Abby

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

